How the Federal “REAL ID Act of 2005” Affects You 

Available Locations >

Arkansas is taking part in the federal nationwide initiative to improve the security of state-issued driver’s licenses and identification cards, which will help fight terrorism and reduce identity fraud. On October 1, 2020, anyone who boards a domestic flight or enters a federal building will either need an Arkansas Voluntary Enhanced Security Driver’s License (DL) or Identification Card (ID), or will need to provide a regular card and additional accepted forms of identification.

Beginning October 3, 2016, you will have two options when applying for or renewing a driver’s license or identification card:
  1. You may choose the new Arkansas Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID. This new card will be compliant with the Federal “REAL ID Act of 2005,” and will provide enhanced security from fraud and identity theft.  The new card will cost the same as a regular DL or ID card.  The new card will also contain a gold star shown on the upper right corner.
  2. You may choose to renew your regular DL or ID cards, which are not compliant with the Federal “REAL ID Act of 2005.” The non-compliant cards will be marked, “Not for Federal Identification,” (see photo below).
  3. If you would like Veteran added to you Driver License or Identification Card you must provide a DD214 that shows a discharge status of "Honorable" or "General under Honorable Conditions"



Over 21 Compliant Driver License

 

Over 21 Non-Compliant Driver License

Enhanced Security Driver License   Regular Driver License


Under 21 Compliant ID

 

Under 21 Non-Compliant ID

 Real ID Compliant   Non-Compliant ID Card


Get Your Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID at these regional offices.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:


Why do I need a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID card?


In order to be compliant with the Federal “REAL ID Act of 2005” any person entering a federal facility or boarding a domestic flight after October 1, 2020 will need to provide either the Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID, or provide a regular card and additional accepted forms of identification. The Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID card will be accepted without additional forms of identification.  If you do not have a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID card, you can still use your regular card after October 1, 2020, but will be required to show additional forms of identification to the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) to board an airplane or enter a federal facility.  Additional information may be obtained from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Can I have both a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID card and a regular card?
No, state and federal law will only allow either a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID or a regular DL or ID.  You may not have both.

Where do I get a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL or ID?
The card can only be obtained at these regional offices.

What information do I need to provide to get the card?
You must provide source documents to prove ALL of the following:

I just renewed my DL. What will it cost me to get a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL?
If you have a current, valid DL, you may convert to a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL for a $10 duplicate card charge.

An 8-year Voluntary Enhanced Security DL costs $40.
If you are within one year of the expiration date, you may renew and convert to the Voluntary Enhanced Security 8-year DL.  The $40 cost will be prorated so that the expiration date on your card is your birthday.

If you choose to convert to the Voluntary Enhanced Security DL, you must bring the source documents listed above.

What if I don’t currently have a DL?
New, first-time applicants will pay $40.  In either case, if you choose to renew or convert to the Voluntary Enhanced Security DL, you must bring the source documents listed above.

Will I have to bring all these documents every time I renew my enhanced security card?
You will only have to bring these documents if you have changed your name, date of birth, gender, social security number, or your DL or ID card number. You will not need to bring these documents if you’ve only changed your address.

I just renewed my ID, what will it cost me to change to a Voluntary Enhanced Security ID card?
The cost to convert from a regular ID card to a Voluntary Enhanced Security ID card is $5.  The cost to renew a Voluntary Enhanced Security ID card is also $5.

If you choose to convert to the Voluntary Enhanced ID, you must bring the source documents listed above.

I am transferring my driver’s license from another state to Arkansas. In addition to providing the source document information, what will it cost me to get a Voluntary Enhanced Security DL?
An 8 year Voluntary Enhanced Security DL costs $40. Additional testing fees and transfer fees may be added.
 
I am transferring my identification card from another state to Arkansas. In addition to providing the source document information, what will it cost me to get a Voluntary Enhanced Security ID card?
The cost is $5.00.

What is the expiration date on a Voluntary Enhanced Security ID Card?
For those age 14 and older, both the Voluntary Enhanced Security ID card and the regular ID card expire every four years.  Those age 60 and older have a choice between a lifetime regular ID card or a four-year Voluntary Enhanced Security ID card.  

There is no lifetime Voluntary Enhanced Security ID card.  Children age 5 to 13 may only receive an ID card with a two-year expiration. 

Will the Arkansas Voluntary Enhanced Driver’s License or ID work for crossing the border?
No, the Arkansas Voluntary Enhanced only works within the borders of the United States, for Domestic flights and Federal buildings.

Will the Arkansas Voluntary Enhanced Driver’s License or ID replace my U.S. Passport?
No, the Arkansas Voluntary Enhanced Driver’s License or ID will not replace a U.S. Passport. If you are going overseas or going on a Cruise or leaving the United States anytime, you will still need US Passport/U.S. Birth Certificate.


If you still have questions, please call our office at (501) 682-7059. You can also email their questions to Driver.Services@dfa.arkansas.gov.