
 
 
 

 
NOTICE TO VENDING MACHINE OPERATORS 

Act 928 of the 1997 session of the General Assembly changed the tax reporting requirements for vending machine 
operators.  Vending Machine Operators must choose one of the methods listed below for operating vending devices 
in Arkansas.  The provisions of this act will be subject to the provisions of the Arkansas Tax Procedure Act,  AR 
Code Ann. §26-18-101. 
 
OPTION 1: I elect to pay Arkansas Sales and/or Use Tax to the supplier of all merchandise that will be sold 

through the vending machines.  Food sold through a vending machine can qualify for taxation at the 
Reduced Food Tax rate (see Rule 2007-3).  No Sales/Use Tax permit is required if Option 1 is chosen. 

 
After the opening of a Vending account, fiscal year decals are issued and placed on vending machines 
by  the taxpayer.  Prior to the beginning of each new fiscal year, a decal order form is mailed out to all 
Vending accounts.  There are no fees for the annual Option 1 decals. 
 

OPTION 2: I elect to report/pay the 7% Wholesale Vending Tax (see Rule 1995-2) each month on the merchandise 
to be sold through the vending machines.  Merchandise is purchased tax free under the sale for resale 
exemption.  A $50.00 Sales/Use Tax Permit is required.  The taxpayer is required to file a monthly 
ET-1 Excise Tax Report and pay the appropriate tax. 

 
After the opening of a Vending account, fiscal year decals are issued and placed on vending machines 
by the taxpayer.  Prior to the beginning of each new fiscal year, a decal order form is mailed out to all 
Vending accounts.  There are no fees for the annual Option 2 decals. 

 
OPTION 3: I elect to pay the decal fees provided by Act 928 of 1997 in lieu of paying sales taxes.  A $50.00 

Sales/Use Tax Permit is required.  The taxpayer is required to file a monthly ET-1 Excise Tax Report. 
 
After opening of a Vending account, fiscal year decals are purchased, issued, and placed on vending 
machines by the taxpayer.  The vending machine operator purchases Option 3 decals based on various 
factors – manual verses electric vending equipment, value of the vended goods, and bulk verses 
individually vended goods.  Prior to the beginning of each new fiscal year, a decal order form is mailed 
out to all Vending accounts. 
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 the OPTION you desire to operate under, enter your Sales Tax account ID, sign/date this form, and indicate 
the approximate number of vending machines owned and operated by you.   Act 928 of 1997 Section (e) requires 
that you obtain an annual decal from the Department and affix to each vending device in a prominent place so as to 
identify the owner/operator of the vending device. 

An operator who places a vending device in use without a valid vending decal or an identifying decal as required by 
Sections 4 and 6 of Act 928 of 1997, shall be liable for the decal fee applicable plus any penalty assessed by this 
Act. 
 
___________________________        ____/___/____       ______________________           __________________ 
   Signature of Owner/Operator                Date           Sales Tax Permit Number          Number of Machines 
 
 

 
Please return this election form to the address listed above. 
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