Share |

Wheat Assessment 

The assessment is levied to promote the growth and development of the wheat industry in Arkansas by research, extension, promotion, and market development. The assessment is reported/paid by the first purchaser (country elevator, terminal, processor, seed producer, trucker or extruder). Monthly reporting forms are mailed out by the Miscellaneous Tax Section and are required to be completed/filed by the 20th day of each month following the report month.

Taxation
The assessment rate is $0.01 per bushel on all wheat grown within the State of Arkansas. The assessment is deducted from the amount paid the producer at the first point of sale, whether within or without the state, or at the point the wheat enters into the United States Department of Agriculture Loan Program. The first purchaser is responsible for collecting from the producer. First purchasers are required to collect on all wheat purchased regardless of the state-of-origin. The wheat assessment does not apply to any person who purchases 1,000 or less bushels in any calendar year.

Any wheat producer may request and receive a refund of the amount deducted from the sale or placing his wheat in the U.S.D.A. Loan Program. The refund is contingent the refund application being filed within 45 days from the date of sale or when the wheat first entered the U.S.D.A. Loan Program, whichever comes first.

Applicable Statutes
AR Code Ann. ยง2-20-601 et seq.