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MEMORANDUM
TO: All State Agency Directors, Boards, Commissions and Institutions of Higher Education
FROM: Richard A. Weiss .
Director %ﬂ@”

SUBJECT: “Emergency Paid Leave” and “Disaster Service Volunteer Leave”

DATE: May 5, 2008

Governor Beebe issued Executive Order 08-09 on May 5, 2008, 2008 authorizing up to 40 hours of
“Emergency Paid Leave” for those State employees who suffered loss of, or substantial damage to, their
principle place of residence due to the severe weather conditions, including tornadoes, damaging winds,
heavy rains and flooding that have plagued Arkansas since January 1, 2008.

‘Affected employees who require additional time off beyond 40 hours of “Emergency Paid Leave” may
submit such leave requests subject to review and approval or disapproval of the agency director/institution
head.

Employees requesting leave to provide volunteer disaster assistance may be eligible for “Disaster Service
Volunteer Leave” in accordance with Arkansas Code Annotated 12-85-101 et al. An employee of a state
agency or an employee of a state-supported institution of higher learning who is trained and certified by
the American Red Cross, whose specialized disaster relief services are requested by the American Red
Cross in connection with a disaster, and who obtains consent from the chief executive officer of his or her
state agency or state-supported institution of higher learning may be granted leave from work with pay for
not more than fifteen (15) working days in any calendar year to participate in specialized disaster relief,
without loss of seniority, pay, annual leave, sick leave, compensatory time, offset time, or overtime wages.

a) The State agency shall compensate an employee granted leave under this section at the
employee’s regular rate of pay for those regular work hours during which the employee is
absent form work,

b) Leave under the “Disaster Service Volunteer Leave Act” shall be granted only for disaster
relief services occurring within the State of Arkansas or for disaster relief services
occurring within states contiguous to the state of Arkansas.

¢) Anemployee on “Disaster Service Volunteer Leave” shall not be deemed to be an
employee of the State of Arkansas for purposes of workers’ compensation.

Employees who are not “Certified Disaster Service Volunteers” pursuant to ACA 12-85-101 may submit
leave requests subject to review and approval or disapproval of the agency director/institution head.
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Your cooperation in this disaster relief is important as we strive to maintain a proper balance between
employee needs and essential government operations during this period of recovery.

If you have questions, please contact Kay Barnhill Terry, State Personnel Administrator, at 682-1823,
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