NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING
The Arkansas Racing Commission will meet on December 8, 2010, at 11:00 a.m. in the
1515 Building, 1515 West Seventh Street, Suite 500, Little Rock, Arkansas, to consider the

adoption of the following rules:

Rules and Regulations Governing Thoroughbred Racing

(1) Rule 1026. “Entry” is:
(a) a horse made eligible to run in a race; or

(b) two or more horses, entered in the same race, which has common ties of
ownership, lease or training.

It is proposed that the word “training” be deleted from subparagraph (b) to conform to the
current practice in the industry, and add “Subject to Rule 2212(b)” at the beginning of Rule
1026, which requires Racing Secretary and Stewards’ approval when horses have the same
trainer.

(2) Rule 1126. This amendment would not allow a suspended trainer to transfer his
horses to a family member or employee when the suspension exceeds 30 days.

(3) Rule 1134. “The Stewards may fine, suspend or rule off any person who, in their
opinion, has acted to the detriment of racing or violated the Rules.” It is proposed that this rule
be repealed because the identical language is contained in Rule 1248.

{4) Rule 1248. The proposed amendment would delete the words “has acted to the
detriment of racing.” The amendment would limit the Stewards’ authority to rules violations or
violations of state or federal laws.

(5) Rule 1151. The proposed amendment allows purse money to be withheld in graded
stakes races until the chemical analysis of post race blood or urine samples has cleared by the
test lab, even if the testing takes more than the normal 96 hour time limit currently in the rules.

(6) Rule 1211. The proposed amendment increases the maximum toe grab height for
front horseshoes from two millimeters to four millimeters.

(7) Rule 1232(A)(c). The proposed amendment adds the following language: “with the
exception of Phenylbutazone in a concentration below 1 microgram per milliliter of serum or
plasma.” The change is made to make clear that only Phenylbutazone is allowed with no more
than one other approved NSAIDs in the serum or plasma of a horse running at Oaklawn Park.



(8) Rule 2036. Requires the Official Starter to make the decision on the validity of a
start when there is some type of problem with the starting gate or other type of problem. The

proposed amendment would make the Stewards responsible for the decision, in consultation with
the Official Starter.

(9) Rule 2110. Proposed amendment to the Rule adopts the same license fees used for
the 2010 meet.

(10) Rule 2163(a). The proposed amendment would require jockeys’ headgear to
conform to the current safety standards approved by American, British, Australian, or New
Zealand authorities.

Rule 2163(b). The proposed amendment would require all persons riding horses at
the track to wear safety vests at all times which comply with the minimum standards adopted by
the American, British, or New Zealand testing authorities as defined in the rule.

(11) Rule 2325. This amendment would require the franchise holder to publish a notice
to the public that jockeys carry approximately three pounds more than their published weight
because of the required safety equipment.

(12) Rule 2400. Allows refunds for money wagered on horses that are locked in the
starting gate at the beginning of a race. The proposed amendment would allow refunds under
other circumstances that compromise the fairness of the race when any type of problem arises
during the start of a race.

(13) Rule 2419. The proposed amendment attempts to further clarify the payout when a
minus pool occurs, and adds examples to illustrate the payout.

(14) Rule 2465(j) . The proposed amendment allows Superfecta wagering if the race has
at least seven betting interests, with the permission of the Stewards.

Any persons wishing to speak for or against any of the above proposed rules should
appear at the meeting on December 8™ and they will be given the opportunity to express their
views. Persons wishing to submit written comments on any of the above rules should send them
to the Arkansas Racing Commission office, P.O. Box 3076, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203, prior
to the close of business on December 7, 2010. Copies of the complete text of the rules can be

obtained from the Racing Commission office during normal business hours.



