Issuance

Driver’s License Issuance Help Desk

Ragland Building- Room 2021                   Phone: (501) 682-7059
1900 W. 7th St.                                             Fax: (501) 371-5699
Little Rock, AR 72203                                 Driver.Services@dfa.arkansas.gov

Issues driver’s license and identification cards to qualified individuals. Assists customers, revenue offices and law enforcement with general licensing queries and system support. Issues driver’s licenses for persons temporarily outside of Arkansas. Issues Valid Without Photo licenses or Identification cards.

Real ID
Card Information
Class D
Class D Endorsements and Restrictions
Class M and MD
Class M Restrictions
Graduated Licenses
Graduated License Endorsements
Graduated License Restrictions 
Graduated License Waivers 
State ID
Real ID Required Documents 
Non-Real ID Required Documents
Duplicate licenses/ID's 
Issuance Forms
Prior License Formats

Real ID                                                                                                                                                                         

Arkansas is taking part in the federal nationwide initiative to improve the security of state-issued driver’s licenses and identification cards, which will help fight terrorism and reduce identity fraud. On October 1, 2020, anyone who boards a domestic flight or enters a federal building will either need an Arkansas REAL ID driver’s license (DL) or Identification Card (ID) or will need to provide a regular identification and additional accepted forms of identification. Additional information can be obtained from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Get your Arkansas REAL ID at these regional offices.

FREQUENTLY ASKED REAL ID QUESTIONS

Top

Card Information                                                                                                                                              

Printed on a highly durable card material are every cardholder’s personal information, photo with a “ghost” image and one signature. A security laminate covers the card, which not only increases the durability, but also makes it more tamper resistant.

The orientation for all the cardholders under the age of 21 will be vertical instead of horizontal. This feature makes the card recognizable as an underage document. Every vertical card shows the date the individual will turn 18 or 21.

The font and color of ARKANSAS and License Class on the card will help quickly identify the type of license as follows:

  • BLUE– Non-Commercial Driver License
  • MAROON– Commercial Driver License
  • GREEN– State Identification Card
  • RED– Learner’s Driver License
  • ORANGE– Intermediate License

Top

Class D                                                                                                                                                                     

Ages. 18+. The licensee is authorized to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle.

 

License Type License Fee: Duration Renewal Eligibility
Class D (Ages 18-21) Prorated 1 month past the licensee’s 21st birthday On or after 21st birthday
Class D (Ages 21+) $40.00 8 years 1 year from expiration

Class D (Ages 69+)
*Optional

$20.00 4 years 1 year from expiration

Top

Class D Endorsements and Restrictions                                                                                                                                               

Endorsement  Code Description
M The licensee is also authorized to operate motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, or similarly classified vehicles.
P The licensee is authorized to transport up to 15 passengers, including the driver, for non-commercial purposes.

 

Restriction Code Description
B Corrective lenses
C Mechanical Aid
D Prosthetic Aid
F Outside Mirror
G Daylight only
J Other
6 Passenger NCL Only (For NCL drivers with the P endorsement)
S No Manual Trans Equip NCL

Top

Class M and MD                                                                                                                                                    

Class M Ages 16+. The licensee is authorized to operate motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, or similarly classified vehicles.
Class   MD Ages 14-15. The licensee is authorized to operate a motor-driven cycle which displaces two-hundred fifty cubic centimeters (250 CC) or less.
 
License Type License Fee: Expires: Renewal Eligibility
Class M $40.00 8 years 1 year from expiration
Class MD Prorated 1 month past the licensee’s 16th birthday On or after 16th birthday

Top

Class M Restrictions

Restriction Code Description
B Corrective lenses
C Mechanical Aid
D Prosthetic Aid
F Outside Mirror
G Daylight only
J Other
S No Manual Trans Equip NCL

Top

Graduated Licenses

The Graduated Driver License program was developed to allow teens to safely gain driving experience before obtaining full driving privileges (Act 394, 2009). This law provides for teen driver’s licenses in three levels: learner’s license, intermediate license and unrestricted/regular license. 

Learner’s license is for ages 14-16. The licensee is authorized to operate a motor vehicle if accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older. Eligibility for an intermediate license is contingent on no serious traffic violations or at fault accidents during the previous 6 months.

 

Intermediate license is for ages 16-17. The licensee is authorized to operate a non-commercial motor vehicle. At 18 years-of-age teens are eligible to apply for a regular, unrestricted, driver’s license, contingent on a clean driving record for the previous year.

 

License Type License Fee: Expires: Renewal Eligibility
Learner’s License Prorated 1 month past the licensee’s 16th birthday On or after 16th birthday
Intermediate Prorated 1 month past the licensee’s 18th birthday On or after 18th birthday
Class D (Ages 18-21) Prorated 1 month past the licensee’s 21th birthday On or after 21th birthday

Top

Graduated License Endorsements

Endorsement  Code Description
MD The licensee is authorized to operate a motor-driven cycle which displaces two-hundred fifty cubic centimeters (250 CC) or less.

Top
 

Graduated License Restrictions

Restriction Code Description
2 Act 394 of 2009 (Learner’s license only)
3 With licensed adult 21+ (Learner’s license or Intermediate without 6 months driving experience)
5 Seatbelt on all passengers

Top

Graduated License Waivers

Arkansas residents who are 16-17 years of age may receive an unrestricted Class D license before their 18th birthday if one of the following conditions are met:

Waiver Type Description
Emancipated 16 and older. Must be legally emancipated.
Graduated 16 and older. Must present high school diploma or GED equivalent.
Married 16 and older. Must present marriage certificate / license.
Military 16 and older. Must have already enlisted in U.S. military.

Top

State ID

State ID’s are issued to Arkansas residents ages 5 and older who do not possess a valid driver’s license. This document is for identification purposes only.

 

  License Fee: Duration Renewal Eligibility
ID (Ages 21-59) $5.00 4 Years 1 year from expiration
ID (Ages 60+) $5.00

Non- Real ID-Non-Expiring
Real ID- 4 Years

Non-expiring Real ID – 1 year from expiration
ID (Ages 5-14) $5.00 2 Years 1 year from expiration

ID (Ages 15-20)
*Vertical Format

$5.00 4 Years 1 year from expiration

Top

Real ID Required Documents

Legal Presence
1 document
Identity
1 document 
SSN 
1 document
Residency
2 document
U.S. Passport/ Passport Card Driver’s License/ID Social Security Card (Name must appear on card the same as on DL/ID) Paycheck, stub, earning statement (Issued within 6 mo. Must have employer’s name & address)
U.S. Birth Certificate (No birth card or hospital certificates) Photo Work/School ID W-2 Form (Must have applicant’s name and full social security number) Gas, Water, electric, Phone, Cable, Internet Bill (Issued within 6 mo.)
DHS Photo document (No border crossing cards) Concealed Handgun License (Must be valid) 1Form 1099 (Must have applicant’s name and full social security number) Account Statement from Bank, Financial Institution, or Brokerage House (Includes savings, checking, money market, and brokerage account)
Foreign Passport (With U.S. Visa and INS documents) Pilot’s License Pay Stub (Must have applicant’s name and full social security number) Deed, Title, Mortgage, Rental/Lease Agreement (Arkansas property. Must have landlord’s name & contact info)
Employment Authorization Card Vehicle Registration/Title Form 1099 (Must have applicant’s name and full social security number) Motor Vehicle, Renters, Homeowners Insurance Policy (Must be current and dated within 1 year)
Permanent Resident Card Court Order (Must have seal) Pay Stub (Must have applicant’s name and full social security number) Arkansas Hunting/Fishing License (Must be valid)
  Tax Document from IRS   Concealed Handgun License (Must be valid)
  Marriage Certificate/License   Personal Property Tax Receipt/Invoice
  Military ID/ Dependent ID   State or Federal Tax Return (Current)
  Armed Forces Discharge Document (DD214)   Certified School Transcript (Current school year)
  Certified School Transcript/Record   College Enrollment Document/Form 2019
  Prison Release Document/ Sentencing Order    
  Bureau of Indian Affairs Card    
  Health Insurance Card    
  Parent Affidavit (Minors only)    

Top

Non- Real ID Required Documents

To receive duplicate license or ID, either one primary document or two secondary documents must be presented.

Primary Documents Secondary Documents
U.S. Passport Driver’s License/ID
U.S. Birth Certificate (No hospital or birth cards) Photo Work/ School ID
Photo Document from DHS (No border crossing card) Concealed Handgun License
Foreign Passport (With U.S. Visa & INS document) Pilot’s License
Employment Authorization Card Vehicle Registration/ Vehicle Title
Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-570, N-578) Court Order (Must have seal)
Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, N-645) Tax Document (Received from IRS)
Permanent Resident Card/Resident Alien Card Marriage Certificate/ Marriage License
Military ID/ Military Dependent ID
Armed Forces Discharge (DD214)
Certified School Record/ Transcript
Prison Release Document
Sentencing Order
Bureau of Indian Affairs Card
Health Insurance Card
Parent Affidavit (Minors Only)

Top

Duplicate licenses / ID’s

Duplication type Description Fees
In person

A duplicate license may be requested at any state Revenue Office during normal business hours. You must provide 1 primary or 2 secondary documents (No photocopies)

Office locations

$10.00 – Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, Class M, Class MD, Intermediate, Learner’s

$5.00 – State ID

Online

A duplicate license may be requested 24 hours a day by going to:

My DMV

You must provide

$10.00 – Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, Class M, Class MD, Intermediate, Learner’s

$5.00 – State ID

By mail

Arkansas residents who are temporarily outside of the state may request an application to have the duplicate license mailed to their current location. For requirements and to see if you qualify contact:

(501) 682-7059

Driver.Services@dfa.arkansas.gov

$10.00 – Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, Class M, Class MD, Intermediate, Learner’s

* State ID’s cannot be sent by mail

Top

Issuance Forms

Affidavit of legal Name Change

Financial Responsibility Acceptance and Release Form

Proof of Legal Presence and Proof of Identification-Non REAL ID

Proof of Legal Presence-REAL ID

Top

Prior License Formats