
 
 NOTICE OF SUSPENSION OF ARKANSAS STATUTES AFFECTING  

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION TRANSACTIONS IN REVENUE OFFICES 
UNDER EXECUTIVE ORDER (EO) 20-06 

 
Pursuant to the authority under Governor Asa Hutchinson’s March 17, 2020 Executive Order 
20-06 and April 13, 2020 Executive Order 20-16, the Arkansas Department of Finance and 
Administration has identified provisions of regulatory statutes stated below that prevents, 
hinders, or delays DFA’s ability to render maximum assistance to the citizens of Arkansas while 
adhering to guidelines to prohibit the spread of disease or seeking assistance from the state to 
obtain benefits or services related to health, education, employment, or any service rendered by 
the State in response to or to mitigate the spread of COVID-19. The identified statutes below 
are suspended until the COVID-19 emergency subsides. 
 

Ark. Code Ann. § 27-14-1004(a) – Penalty for Late Registration of Motor Vehicles 
 

• Ark. Code Ann. § 27-14-1004(a) imposes a late registration penalty of $3.00 for each ten 
days a person fails to properly register a motor vehicle until the penalty reaches the 
same amount as the annual license fee of the vehicle, which may range from $17.00 to 
$30.00. Under EO 20-06 and EO 20-16, DFA has suspended until the COVID-19 
emergency subsides the penalty under Ark. Code Ann. § 27-14-1004(a) for the late 
registration of a motor vehicle or the late renewal of a registration of a motor vehicle. 

 

• This notice also does not suspend any statute, rule, or law requiring payment of sales or 
use tax (including any assessed penalty or interest on tax owed) on a vehicle purchase 
or payment of any registration or other fee. 
 

• New motor vehicle registrations and renewals of registrations may be completed online 
at https://mydmv.arkansas.gov/. Renewal of registration is also available by phone by 
contacting DFA at 1-800-941-2580. 

https://mydmv.arkansas.gov/

