ARKANSAS REGISTER



Proposed Rule Cover Sheet

Secretary of State John Thurston 500 Woodlane Street, Suite 026 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094 (501) 682-5070 www.sos.arkansas.gov



Name of Department Department of Finance and Administration
Agency or Division Name Alcoholic Beverage Control Division
Other Subdivision or Department, If Applicable
Previous Agency Name, If Applicable
Contact Person Doralee Chandler
Contact E-mail Doralee.chandler@dfa.arkansas.gov
Contact Phone 501-682-1105
Name of Rule Microbrewery Restaurant Private Club - Rules 5.84-5.89
Newspaper Name Arkansas Democrat Gazette
Date of Publishing December 22, 2019 thru December 24, 2019
Final Date for Public Comment January 22, 2020
Location and Time of Public Meeting 1515 West 7th Street, 5th Floor, 9:00 a.m.

MARKUP COPY

SUBTITLE H - OPERATION OF MICROBREWERY-RESTAURANT PRIVATE CLUB

Section 5.84 A microbrewery-restaurant private club applicant shall be an entity organized and existing under the laws of this state before applying for a microbreweryrestaurant private club. The net revenues of the microbrewery-restaurant private club shall not directly or indirectly benefit its members[CLI], except for the payment of bona fide expenses of the microbrewery-restaurant private club's operations. Activities at the microbrewery-restaurant private club shall be conducted for some common recreational, social, patriotic, political, national, benevolent, athletic, community hospitality, professional association, entertainment, or other object or purpose and not solely for the consumption of alcoholic beverages. At the time of application for a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit, the entity shall own or lease, be the holder of a buy-sell agreement or offer and acceptance, or have an option to lease a building, property, or space for the reasonable comfort and accommodation of its members and the families and guests of its members. The microbrewery-restaurant private club shall restrict the use of club facilities to its members and the families and guests of its members. For purposes of the microbrewery-restaurant private club, a person is a member of the microbrewery-restaurant private club only upon ordering an alcoholic beverage. If the entity holding a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit additionally holds another alcoholic beverage permit, the hours of operation authorized for the microbrewery-restaurant private club applies to all permits of the entity.

Section 5.85 Procedure for Obtaining Permit[CL2]. A microbrewery-restaurant private club applicant may apply to obtain a microbrewery-restaurant private club through the procedures provided under Section 5.15 and Section 1.20. The application for a microbrewery-restaurant private club shall be submitted to the division and accompanied by an annual permit fee of one thousand five hundred dollars (\$1,500). In an area in which the sale of alcoholic beverages is not authorized by local option under § 3–8–201 et seq., the application for a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit shall be accompanied by an additional application fee of one thousand five hundred dollars (\$1,500). The director may issue a permit as authorized in this section upon determination that the applicant is qualified and that the application is in the public interest.

The Director may issue a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit if the microbrewery-restaurant private club premises are in a dry area and the governing body has approved an applicant.

The Director may issue an additional microbrewery-restaurant private club permit after October 1, 2019, to a person or entity holding a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit as of October 1, 2019, and having more than five percent (5%) common ownership with a person or entity if the person or entity holds a permit under the Arkansas Small Brewery Act, § 3–5–1401 et seq., or qualifies as a supplier under § 3–5–1102.

Section 5.85.1 Reapplication An entity denied a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit may reapply with ABC for a permit, pursuant to Section 1.30 of these Rules.

Section 5.86 Permit Scope and [CL3] Restrictions. The Director of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division may issue a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit that authorizes the permittee to:

Operate a microbrewery-restaurant private club and manufacture one (1) or more varieties of beer, malt beverage, or hard cider in an aggregate quantity not to exceed forty-five thousand (45,000) barrels per year from all facilities under common ownership with the microbrewery;

Store beer, malt beverage, and hard cider manufactured by the microbrewery-restaurant private club and any other beer, malt beverage, and hard cider that the microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee may purchase from retailers and small brewers permitted by this state on the microbrewery-restaurant private club permitted premises and on the premises of the one (1) separate brewing facility of a microbrewery-restaurant private club.

Two (2) or more microbrewery-restaurant private clubs sharing common ownership or a brewery of any size sharing common ownership with a microbrewery-restaurant private club shall be considered one (1) entity for purposes of: calculating barrel production; and the transportation of beer, malt beverage, or hard cider produced by one (1) entity among no more than three (3) microbrewery-restaurant private clubs of the one (1) entity; Operate a restaurant that is the sales outlet for beer, malt beverage, or hard cider manufactured by the microbrewery-restaurant private club and that sells the beer, malt beverage, or hard cider and any other beer, malt beverage, hard cider, or wine that the microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee may purchase from retailers permitted by this state for consumption on the permitted premises or purchased directly from permitted small brewers allowed to distribute directly to the microbrewery-restaurant private club; Sell on the premises beer, malt beverage, or hard cider manufactured by the microbrewery-restaurant private club or commonly owned facility to a member for on-premises consumption during legal operating hours

Serve to a member on-premises complimentary samples of beer, malt beverages, or hard cider produced by the microbrewery-restaurant private club

Sell beer, malt beverage, or hard cider of its own manufacture to a wholesale dealer permitted by this state for the purpose of resale to other retail permit holders.

Section 5.87 Tastings. A microbrewery-restaurant private club may conduct beertasting, malt beverage-tasting, and hard cider-tasting events for educational or promotional purposes at any location in wet areas of this state if:

(i) A request for approval to conduct a beer-tasting, malt beverage-tasting, and hard cider-tasting event is received by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division at least two (2) weeks before the event;

(ii) The request is approved by the division; and

(iii) Written notice is given by the division to the permit holder at least five (5) days before the event.

The microbrewery-restaurant private club shall use only beer, malt beverage, and hard cider produced by the microbrewery-restaurant private club for an event approved.

This section does not authorize the conducting of a beer-tasting, malt beverage-tasting, and hard cider-tasting event at a separate brewing facility of a microbrewery-restaurant private club

Section 5.88 Separate Facility Authorized. A microbrewery-restaurant private club may maintain one (1) separate brewing facility for the production or storage of beer, malt liquor, and hard cider as needed to meet demand, except that each facility used by the microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee shall not in the aggregate produce more than forty-five thousand (45,000) barrels of beer, malt beverage, and hard cider per year.

Beer, malt beverage, and hard cider produced by a separate brewing facility of a microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee shall be:

- (i) Sold to a permitted wholesaler; or
- (ii) Transported:
 - (a) From the separate brewing facility to a microbrewery-restaurant private club commonly owned by the owner of the separate brewing facility for retail sale for consumption on the permitted premises; or
 - (b) To the separate brewing facility from a microbrewery-restaurant private club commonly owned by the owner of the separate brewing facility for storage, production, or packaging.

5.87 Prohibited Sales A microbrewery private club may not sell alcoholic beverages to nonmembers. A microbrewery private club shall not sell alcoholic beverages for off-premise consumption. Violation of this provision will result in the permit being revoked.

SUMMARY OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES

Act 681 establishes the Microbrewery-restaurant Private Club Permit. Subtitle H has been added to Title 5 of the ABC Rules to incorporate this Act.

Clean copy

SUBTITLE H - OPERATION OF MICROBREWERY-RESTAURANT PRIVATE CLUB

Section 5.84 A microbrewery-restaurant private club applicant shall be an entity organized and existing under the laws of this state before applying for a microbreweryrestaurant private club. The net revenues of the microbrewery-restaurant private club shall not directly or indirectly benefit its members, except for the payment of bona fide expenses of the microbrewery-restaurant private club's operations. Activities at the microbrewery-restaurant private club shall be conducted for some common recreational, social, patriotic, political, national, benevolent, athletic, community hospitality, professional association, entertainment, or other object or purpose and not solely for the consumption of alcoholic beverages. At the time of application for a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit, the entity shall own or lease, be the holder of a buy-sell agreement or offer and acceptance, or have an option to lease a building, property, or space for the reasonable comfort and accommodation of its members and the families and guests of its members. The microbrewery-restaurant private club shall restrict the use of club facilities to its members and the families and guests of its members. For purposes of the microbrewery-restaurant private club, a person is a member of the microbrewery-restaurant private club only upon ordering an alcoholic beverage. If the entity holding a microhrewery-restaurant private club permit additionally holds another alcoholic beverage permit, the hours of operation authorized for the microbrewery-restaurant private club applies to all permits of the entity.

Section 5.85 Procedure for Obtaining Permit. A microbrewery-restaurant private club applicant may apply to obtain a microbrewery-restaurant private club through the procedures provided under Section 5.15 and Section 1.20. The application for a microbrewery-restaurant private club shall be submitted to the division and accompanied by an annual permit fee of one thousand five hundred dollars (\$1,500). In an area in which the sale of alcoholic beverages is not authorized by local option under § 3–8–201 *et seq.*, the application for a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit shall be accompanied by an additional application fee of one thousand five hundred dollars (\$1,500). The director may issue a permit as authorized in this section upon determination that the applicant is qualified and that the application is in the public interest.

The Director may issue a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit if the microbrewery-restaurant private club premises are in a dry area and the governing body has approved an applicant.

The Director may issue an additional microbrewery-restaurant private club permit after October 1, 2019, to a person or entity holding a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit as of October 1, 2019, and having more than five percent (5%) common ownership with a person or entity if the person or entity holds a permit under the Arkansas Small Brewery Act, § 3–5–1401 et seq., or qualifies as a supplier under § 3–5–1102.

Section 5.85.1 Reapplication An entity denied a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit may reapply with ABC for a permit, pursuant to Section 1.30 of these Rules.

Section 5.86 Permit Scope and Restrictions. The Director of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division may issue a microbrewery-restaurant private club permit that authorizes the permittee to:

Operate a microbrewery-restaurant private club and manufacture one (1) or more varieties of beer, malt beverage, or hard cider in an aggregate quantity not to exceed forty-five thousand (45,000) barrels per year from all facilities under common ownership with the microbrewery;

Store beer, malt beverage, and hard cider manufactured by the microbrewery-restaurant private club and any other beer, malt beverage, and hard cider that the microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee may purchase from retailers and small brewers permitted by this state on the microbrewery-restaurant private club permitted premises and on the premises of the one (1) separate brewing facility of a microbrewery-restaurant private club.

Two (2) or more microbrewery-restaurant private clubs sharing common ownership or a brewery of any size sharing common ownership with a microbrewery-restaurant private club shall be considered one (1) entity for purposes of: calculating barrel production; and the transportation of beer, malt beverage, or hard cider produced by one (1) entity among no more than three (3) microbrewery-restaurant private clubs of the one (1) entity; Operate a restaurant that is the sales outlet for beer, malt beverage, or hard cider manufactured by the microbrewery-restaurant private club and that sells the beer, malt beverage, or hard cider and any other beer, malt beverage, hard cider, or wine that the microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee may purchase from retailers permitted by this state for consumption on the permitted premises or purchased directly from permitted small brewers allowed to distribute directly to the microbrewery-restaurant private club;

Sell on the premises beer, malt beverage, or hard cider manufactured by the microbrewery-restaurant private club or commonly owned facility to a member for on-premises consumption during legal operating hours

Serve to a member on-premises complimentary samples of beer, malt beverages, or hard cider produced by the microbrewery-restaurant private club

Sell beer, malt beverage, or hard cider of its own manufacture to a wholesale dealer permitted by this state for the purpose of resale to other retail permit holders.

Section 5.87 Tastings. A microbrewery-restaurant private club may conduct beertasting, malt beverage-tasting, and hard cider-tasting events for educational or promotional purposes at any location in wet areas of this state if:

- (i) A request for approval to conduct a beer-tasting, malt beverage-tasting, and hard cider-tasting event is received by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division at least two (2) weeks before the event;
- (ii) The request is approved by the division; and

(iii) Written notice is given by the division to the permit holder at least five (5) days before the event.

The microbrewery-restaurant private club shall use only beer, malt beverage, and hard cider produced by the microbrewery-restaurant private club for an event approved.

This section does not authorize the conducting of a beer-tasting, malt beverage-tasting, and hard cider-tasting event at a separate brewing facility of a microbrewery-restaurant private club

Section 5.88 Separate Facility Authorized. A microbrewery-restaurant private club may maintain one (1) separate brewing facility for the production or storage of beer, malt liquor, and hard cider as needed to meet demand, except that each facility used by the microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee shall not in the aggregate produce more than forty-five thousand (45,000) barrels of beer, malt beverage, and hard cider per year.

Beer, malt beverage, and hard cider produced by a separate brewing facility of a microbrewery-restaurant private club permittee shall be:

- (i) Sold to a permitted wholesaler; or
- (ii) Transported:
 - (a) From the separate brewing facility to a microbrewery-restaurant private club commonly owned by the owner of the separate brewing facility for retail sale for consumption on the permitted premises; or
 - (b) To the separate brewing facility from a microbrewery-restaurant private club commonly owned by the owner of the separate brewing facility for storage, production, or packaging.

5.87 Prohibited Sales A microbrewery private club may not sell alcoholic beverages to nonmembers. A microbrewery private club shall not sell alcoholic beverages for off-premise consumption. <u>Violation of this provision will result in the permit being revoked</u>.

FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DE	PAR	RTMENT	DFA				
DI	VISI	ON	Alcoholic I	Beverage Control			
PE	RSO	N COMPLI	ETING THI	S STATEMENT I	Ooralee Chandler		
TE	LEP	HONE 501-6	682-2916	FAX 501-682-222	EMAIL: Dorale	ee.Chandler@c	lfa.arkansas.gov
To fil	com e two	ply with Ark copies with	the question	§ 25-15-204(e), plea maire and proposed re	se complete the following ules.	g Financial Imp	pact Statement and
SI	IOR'	T TITLE O	F THIS RU	LE Operation of M	icrobrewery-Restaurant I	Private Club	
1.	Doe	s this propos	sed, amende	d, or repealed rule have	ve a financial impact?	Yes x	No 🗌
2.	ecor	nomic, or oth	er evidence	reasonably obtainable and information avai ernatives to the rule?	scientific, technical, lable concerning the need	Yes	No x
3.				atives to this rule, wastly rule considered?	s this rule determined by	Yes	No x
	If ar	n agency is p	roposing a n	nore costly rule, pleas	e state the following:		
	(a)	How the ac	lditional ben	efits of the more cost	ly rule justify its addition	al cost;	
	(b) (c)		e more costl	y rule is based on the	interests of public health	, safety, or wel	fare, and if so,
	(d)	Whether th	e reason is v	vithin the scope of the	e agency's statutory autho	rity; and if so,	please explain.
4.	If the			implement a federal rul	tle or regulation, please state or regulation?	te the following	: <u>N/A</u>
Cu	rrent	t Fiscal Year	<u>r</u>		Next Fiscal Year		
Fee Cas Spe	deral l sh Fu ecial l	Revenue _Funds _ nds _ Revenue _ dentify)			General Revenue Federal Funds Cash Funds Special Revenue Other (Identify)		
Tot	al		unknown		Total	unknown	

	<u>l'ear</u>	Next Fiscal Year	
General Revenue		General Revenue	
Federal Funds		Federal Funds	
Cash Funds		Cash Funds	
Special Revenue		Special Revenue	
Other (Identify)		Other (Identify)	
Total	0	Total	0
What is the total escoposed, amended, or affected.	stimated cost by fiscal year r repealed rule? Identify the	to any private individual, entity e entity(ics) subject to the prop	y and business subject to the osed rule and explain bow the
Current Fiscal Year		Next Fiscal Year	
unknown		\$ unknown	
•			
Δ.		Next Fiscal Year	•
0		\$ _0	·
With respect to the obligation of at leas	st one hundred thousand doness, state government, cou		a new or increased cost or private individual, private
With respect to the obligation of at leas entity, private busin	st one hundred thousand doness, state government, cou	ions #5 and #6 above, is there allars (\$100,000) per year to a p	a new or increased cost or private individual, private vernment, or to two (2) or
With respect to the obligation of at leas entity, private busin more of those entiti	st one hundred thousand doness, state government, could be combined? is required by Ark. Code A impact statement. The write	\$ 0 ions #5 and #6 above, is there a llars (\$100,000) per year to a p nty government, municipal gov	a new or increased cost or private individual, private vernment, or to two (2) or x vritten findings at the time of altaneously
With respect to the obligation of at leasentity, private busing more of those entition. If YES, the agency filing the financial is with the financial in	st one hundred thousand doness, state government, could be combined? is required by Ark. Code A impact statement. The write	s 0 ions #5 and #6 above, is there allars (\$100,000) per year to a party government, municipal gov Yes No ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file water findings shall be filed simulated, without limitation, the	a new or increased cost or private individual, private vernment, or to two (2) or x vritten findings at the time of altaneously
With respect to the obligation of at least entity, private busing more of those entition. If YES, the agency filing the financial is with the financial in (1) a statement of the obligation of the obligation.	is tone hundred thousand doness, state government, could be combined? is required by Ark. Code A impact statement. The write impact statement and shall in the rule's basis and purpose; agency seeks to address with the content of t	s 0 ions #5 and #6 above, is there allars (\$100,000) per year to a party government, municipal gov Yes No ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file water findings shall be filed simulated, without limitation, the	a new or increased cost or private individual, private vernment, or to two (2) or x vritten findings at the time of altaneously following:
With respect to the obligation of at least entity, private busing more of those entition. If YES, the agency filing the financial is with the financial in (1) a statement of the (2) the problem the rule is required.	is tone hundred thousand doness, state government, could be combined? is required by Ark. Code A impact statement. The write impact statement and shall in the rule's basis and purpose; agency seeks to address with the content of t	s 0 ions #5 and #6 above, is there allars (\$100,000) per year to a party government, municipal gov Yes No Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file waten findings shall be filed simulation, the	a new or increased cost or private individual, private vernment, or to two (2) or x vritten findings at the time of altaneously following:
With respect to the obligation of at lease entity, private busing more of those entition. If YES, the agency filing the financial is with the financial in (1) a statement of the (2) the problem the rule is required. (3) a description of (a) justifies	is required by Ark. Code A impact statement and shall in the rule's basis and purpose; agency seeks to address with the factual evidence that: the agency's need for the ps how the benefits of the rule.	ions #5 and #6 above, is there allars (\$100,000) per year to a party government, municipal government, municipal government, see Notann. \$25-15-204(e)(4) to file water findings shall be filed simulated, without limitation, the set that the proposed rule, including	a new or increased cost or private individual, private vernment, or to two (2) or x vritten findings at the time of altaneously following:

- (5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule:
- (6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and
- (7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation, whether:
 - (a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;
 - (h) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and
 - (c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the statutory objectives.