

Instruction for AR1100NOL (Net Operating Loss Schedule)

This form should be used to calculate Net Operating Loss (NOL) amounts to enter on Line 29 or Schedule A, Line C3 of the Arkansas Form AR1100CT or on P3 Line 26 and/or Section C Line 3 on Form AR1100PET.

Name of Corporation: Enter Corporation/Entity Name as it appears on the return.

FEIN: Enter the Corporation/Entity FEIN as it appears on the return

Tax Year: Enter the ending date of the tax year that establishes NOL. Example: 12/31/2023

NOL Amt: Enter the amount of NOL established after adjusting the net operating loss on the return by any addbacks of nontaxable income. For computing the amount of NOL that will be allowed for carryforward purposes, Arkansas Code Annotated 26-51-427(2)(A) states there shall be added to gross income all nontaxable income, not required to be reported as gross income by law, less any related expenses which will otherwise be nondeductible.

Yr Expires: Enter the ending date of the tax year in which the NOL is expected to expire.

Example: 12/31/2033

Tax Year 1: Enter the ending date for the first tax year after the NOL is established.

Claim Amt 1: Enter any NOL that is claimed during Tax Year 1. If no NOL is claimed, enter -0-.

Balance 1: Enter the balance that is available after claiming any amount of NOL in Tax Year 1. The amount in this column should be the difference between the amount entered beside NOL Amt and any amount listed in Claim Amt 1.

Tax Year 1 to Tax Year 10 and the corresponding lines to the right are intended to be used when NOL is being claimed. Any time a tax year is not claiming NOL, enter -0- in the Claim Amt field. Enter the amount of NOL that is being established in the next section. Any amount that has not been claimed at the time the Yr Expires has been reached should be entered in the Amt Expired field.

Arkansas Regulation 2.26-51-102(17)(B) states that tax years for a fractional part of a year will be counted as a full tax year for carryforward of net operating losses and tax credits unless otherwise specified by law.

Arkansas Code Annotated 26-51-427 provides that net operating losses must be claimed in the first year available. A taxpayer may not forego a net operating loss deduction in a year it could have been used and then claim it in a subsequent year.

For tax years beginning 1/1/2021 or later, NOL will carry forward for 10 years. For tax years beginning 1/1/2020 through 12/31/2020, NOL carries forward 8 years. For tax years beginning before 1/1/2020 NOL carries forward 5 years.