Request for Governor’s Approval of Proposed Rules and Regulations

Department/Agency: Medical Marijuana Commission (DFA)

Short Title of Rule Licensure of Medical Marijuana Cultivation Facilities,
Processors and Dispensaries

New Rule:[Yes [ No Amendment to Existing Rule: X Yes [INo

State Mandate: [] Yes [J No Federal Mandate: [ Yes X No
If yes. please provide the rule. regulation, and/or statute citation:

Authority to Promulgate the Rule: Ark. Const. Amend. 98. § 24 and Act 1004 of 2019

Proposed Effective Date: 10 days after filing with SOS

Emergency Rule: (] Yes X No Expedited Rule Requested: [J Yes X No
Summary of Proposed New Rule or Proposed Amendment to Existing Rule:

The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission is adopting rules that prescribe the
licensure, application, and renewal of licenses for medical marijuana processors in
Arkansas. The rules were adapted from the existing licensing rules for cultivation
facilities and dispensaries. The rules describe the license application and license renewal
procedures; imposes limitations on licensed processors: establishes an initial license fee
and renewal fee, in addition to a performance bond requirement for the first year of
licensure: describes notification procedures for a licensee with information changes; and
prescribes appeal procedures for denials of initial applications or license renewals.
Additionally, it incorporates the distance requirements for a developmental disability
home as contained in Act 1004 of 2019

Financial Impact: X Yes [J No [ Unknown: Ifyes or unknown, please explain:
The MMC will charge an initial license fee of $5.000 and a renewal fee of $5.000 for

transporters. In the first year of licensure only. transporters are required to maintain a
performance bond of $100,000.

Public Hearing: X Yes [ No Controversial: X Yes [ No (this rule should not
be controversial, but medical marijuana is.)

Documents Required for Approval Process

Please note that the Governor's office will not begin the approval process if any of the

following applicable documents are not enclosed with the approval request.

X BLR Questionnaire

X BLR Financial Impact Statement

X Proposed Rule — clean version

CON/A Mark-Up of Rule, if amended from previous version

X Copy of Act or Regulation, if Rule is pursuant to State or Federal mandate



QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

DEPARTMENT/AGENCY Medical Marijuana Commission (DFA)

DIVISION Alcoholic Beverage Control
DIVISION DIRECTOR Doralee Chandler
CONTACT PERSON Doralee Chandler
1515 West 7th Street
ADDRESS Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
PHONE NO. 501-682-2916 FAX NO. 501-682-2221 EMAIL Doralee.Chandler@dfa.arkansas.cov

NAME OF PRESENTER AT COMMITTEE MEETING Doralee Chandler
PRESENTER E-MAIL Doralee.Chandler@dfa.arkansas.gov

g awy

INSTRUCTIONS

Please make copies of this form for future use.

Please answer each question completely using layman terms. You may use additional sheets, if necessary.
If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title of this Rul¢
below.

Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire and financial impact statement attached to the front of two (2)
copies of the proposed rule and required documents. Mail or deliver to:

Donna K. Davis

Administrative Rules Review Section
Arkansas Legislative Council
Bureau of Legislative Research

One Capitol Mall, 5" Floorl

Little Rock, AR 72201

*******************************************$*************************************

1.

Licensure of Medical Marijuana Cultivation Facilities. Processors and
What is the short title of this rule? Dispensaries

The application for, issuance of, and renewal of medical marijuana
What is the subject of the proposed rule? transporter licenses.

Is this rule required to comply with a federal statute, rule, or regulation? Yes No X
If yes, please provide the federal rule, regulation, and/or statute citation.

Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act?

Yes [ ] No X
If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency rule?

When does the emergency rule expire?

Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the permanent provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act?

3,

Yes [] No X

Is this a new rule? Yes X No []
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If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation.
Section 24 of Ark. Const. Amend. 98 requires the Medical Marijuana Commission to adopt rules to license processor
which the Commission has done through this proposed rule. The rule establishes the a lication requirements for an
initial and renewal processor license. An applicant that meets the application requirements will be licensed to
process medical marijuana to be transported to dispensaries for sale to patients. The rule was adapted from the existin
licensing rules for cultivation facilities and dispensaries. The rule describes the license application and license renew:
procedures: imposes limitations on licensed processors: establishes an initial license fee and renewal fee, in addition t
performance bond requirement for the first year of licensure: describes notification procedures for a licensee with
information changes: and prescribes appeal procedures for denials of initial applications or license renewals.
Additionally this rule incorporates distance restrictions to developmental disability homes pursuant to Act 1004 of 20

Does this repeal an existing rule? Yes [] No X
If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with your completed questionnaire. If it is being replaced with a
new rule, please provide a summary of the rule giving an explanation of what the rule does.

Is this an amendment to an existing rule? ~ Yes [ ] No X

If yes, please attach a mark-up showing the changes in the existing rule and a summary of the substantive changes
Note: The summary should explain what the amendment does, and the mark-up copy should be clearly
labeled “mark-up.”

6. Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule? If codified, please give the Arkansas Code
citation.
Ark. Const. Amend. 98. § 24

7. What is the purpose of this proposed rule? Why is it necessary? To license medical marijuana transporters. as
required by Amend. 98.

8. Please provide the address where this rule is publicly accessible in electronic form via the Internet as required by
Arkansas Code § 25-19-108(b). https://www.mmc.arkansas.gov

9. Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes X No []
If yes, please complete the following:

Within 40 days after Governor’s approval
Date: received
Time: TBD
Place: DFA, 1515 West 7! Street

10. When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation? (Must provide a date.)
Within 40 days after Governor’s approval received.

11. What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule? (Must provide a date.)
10 days after filing with SOS

12. Please provide a copy of the notice required under Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(a), and proof of the publication of
said notice. See attached draft Notice.

13. Please provide proof of filing the rule with the Secretary of State and the Arkansas State Library as required
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e). To be provided

14. Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules? Please
provide their position (for or against) if known. Unknown
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FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT
PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY
DEPARTMENT  Medical Marijuana Comm’n (DFA)

DIVISION Alcoholic Beverage Control
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT Doralee Chandler
TELEPHONE 501-682-2916 FAX 501-682-2221 EMAIL: Doralee.Chandler@dfa.arkansas.gov

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact Statement and
file two copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS Licensure of Medical Marijuana Cultivation Facilities. Processors and
RULE Dispensaries
1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact? Yes X No [_]

2. Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical,
economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the need
for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule? Yes X No []

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule determined by
the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes X No []

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b)  The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(c)  Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and if so,
please explain; and;

(d)  Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory authority; and if so, please explain.

4. Ifthe purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following: N/A

(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue
Other (Identify) Other (Identify)
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Total Total

(b)  What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue
Other (Identify) Other (Identify)
Total 0 Total 0
5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity and business subject to the proposed.
amended, or repealed rule? Identify the entity(ies) subject to the proposed rule and explain how they are affected.
Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
$ 105,000 § 5,000
In the first year of licensure, a transporter is required to maintain a performance bond of $1 00,000 and pay a
licensure fee of $5,000. In the second year, the licensee can discontinue the bond but must pay a license
renewal fee of $5,000.
6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to implement this rule?
Is this the cost of the program or grant? Please explain how the government is affected.
Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
$ 0 $ 0
7. With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or increased cost or

obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a private individual, private entity,
private business, state government, county government, municipal government, or to two (2) or more of those
entities combined?

Yes X (first

yearonly) No

If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings at the time of filing
the financial impact statement. The written findings shall be filed simultaneously
with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of whether a rule is
required by statute;

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and
(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify the rule’s
costs;
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(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately
address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and the reasons
why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks to address
with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an explanation of
why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether, based upon the
evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation, whether:
(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;
(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and
(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the statutory
objectives.

Revised January 2017



RULES ANDREGULATIONS-GOVERNING THE APPLICATION FOR,
ISSUANCE, AND RENEWAL OF LICENSES FOR MEDICAL
MARIJUANA CULTIVATION FACILITIES,-AND DISPENSARIES,
AND PROCESSORS IN ARKANSAS

SECTION I.
AUTHORITY OF THE COMMISSION

These Rules and-Regulations-Governing the Application For, Issuance, and Renewal
of Licenses for Medical Marijuana Cultivation Facilities,—and Dispensaries, and
Processors in Arkansas are duly adopted and promulgated by the Medical Marijuana
Commission pursuant to Amendment No. 98 of the Constitution of the State of
Arkansas of 1874, The Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016.

SECTION II.
SCOPE, AND PURPOSE,
AND SEVERABILITY

These rules govern the application procedures for the issuance and renewal of
licenses for medical marijuana cultivation facilities.—and dispensaries, and
processors in Arkansas. These rules also govern the selection methods to be used
and the criteria to be considered by the Medical Marijuana Commission in awarding
licenses for medical marijuana cultivation facilities and dispensaries.

If any provision of these rules or the application thereof to any person or
circumstance is held invalid for any reason the invalidity shall not affect the other
provisions or any other application of these rules that can be given effect without the
invalid provisions or application. Therefore, all provisions of these rules are declared
to be severable.

SECTION III.
DEFINITIONS

(1) “Amendment” means the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act of 2016.

(2) “Applicant” means the natural person in whose name a license would be

issued and any entity: (a) the natural person represents; or (b) on whose

1



3)
(4)

(5)
(6)

(7)

behalf the application is being submitted.

“Commission” means the Medical Marijuana Commission.

“Cultivation facility” means an entity that:

a. Has been licensed by the Medical Marijuana Commission;

b. Cultivates, prepares, manufactures, processes, packages, sells to and
delivers usable marijuana to a dispensary.

“Department” means the Arkansas Department of Health.

“Dispensary” means an entity that has been licensed by the Medical

Marijuana Commission pursuant to the requirements of the Amendment.

“Excluded ¥felony offense” means:

(a)(i)(A)A felony offense as determined by the jurisdiction where the
felony offense occurred,;

(B) The Medical Marijuana Commission, the Department of
Health, or the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division shall determine
whether an offense is a felony offense based upon a review of the
relevant court records concerning the conviction for the offense.

(i1)An offense that has been sealed by a court or for which a pardon
has been granted is not considered an excluded felony offense: or

(b) A violation of a state or federal controlled-substance law that was
classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted,
but not including:

(1) An offense for which the sentence, including any term of
probation, incarceration, or supervised release, was completed ten (10)
or more years earlier; or

(i1) An offense that has been sealed by a court or for which a pardon
has been granted:




] P \ & : =i . I - 1 ],

(8) “Licensed facility” means a licensed cultivation facility, licensed

dispensary, licensed transporter/distributor, or licensed processor.

(9)  “Manufacture and Process”

a. Means the manufacturing, processing, compounding or conversion

of marijuana into cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates, or

cannabinoid extracts: and

b. Does not mean the drying of marijuana.

(10) “Primary Entrance” means the entrance through which most people enter
or exit a building.

(11) “Processor” means an entity licensed by the Commission pursuant to these

Rules and that may:

a. Acquire, possess, manufacture and process, prepare, deliver,

transport, and supply marijuana to a dispensary or cultivation facility:

and

b. Receive compensation for providing services allowed by this section.

H(12) “Qualifying medical condition” means one or more of the following;:
a. Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency
virus/acquired immune deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C, amyotrophic

lateral sclerosis, Tourette’s syndrome, Crohn’s disease, ulcerative

colitis, post-traumatic stress disorder, severe arthritis, fibromyalgia,

Alzheimer’s disease, or the treatment of these conditions;

b. A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment
that produces one (1) or more of the following: cachexia or wasting

syndrome; peripheral neuropathy; intractable pain, which is pain that
3



has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical
measures for more than six (6) months; severe nausea; seizures,
including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy; or severe
and persistent muscle spasms, including, without limitation those
characteristic of multiple sclerosis; and
c. Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the
Department pursuant to these Rules and the Amendment.
(H0)(13)  “School” means a facility or building operated by a public school
district; open-enrollment public charter school, as defined in Ark. Code
Ann. § 6- 23-103; or a private entity including parochial schools
providing preschool, elementary, or secondary education but does not
include postsecondary institutions of higher education, community
colleges, or the residences of students being home schooled under Ark.
Code Ann. § 6-15- 501 et. seq.
HH(14)  “Sealed” means expunge, remove, sequester, and treat as confidential
the record or records of a felony offense;

H2(15)  “Transporter” means an entity licensed as a transporter by the

Commission.

3)(16)  “Usable marijuana” means the stalks, seeds, roots, dried leaves,

flowers, oils, vapors, waxes, and other portions of the marijuana plant
and any mixture or preparation thereof. Usable marijuana does not
include the weight of any ingredients other than marijuana that are

combined with marijuana and prepared for consumption as food and drink.

SECTION IV.
CULTIVATION FACILITY
APPLICATION, LICENSING, & RENEWAL
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I. License Required

a. No person or entity shall operate a medical marijuana cultivation
facility unless the person has a license issued by the commission
pursuant to these rules.

b. Each license for a cultivation facility shall specify:

1. The name of the individual who holds the license;
il. The address of the individual who holds the license;
iii. The effective dates of the license; and
iv. The address of the licensed facility.
2. Licenses Available

a. The commission shall issue at least four (4), but no more than eight (8),
cultivation facility licenses.

b. It shall be within the commission’s discretion to make licenses
available.

c. When it has been determined that new licenses are available or
appropriate, the commission shall notify the public at large by legal
notice that it will be accepting applications for a cultivation facility
license.

d. No individual shall have interest in more than one (1) Arkansas
cultivation facility and one (1) Arkansas dispensary.

3. Application Process

a. An application for a cultivation facility license shall be submitted to the
commission on a form and in a manner prescribed by the commission.

b. Applications will be accepted for the cultivation facility license
beginning ten (10) days after the date of publication of the legal notice
by the commission, and no applications will be accepted after ninety
(90) days of the publication date.

c. Applications that have been received and verified by the commission
will be considered based upon the selection processes set out in Section
IV.9.

d. Information and statements provided in an application shall become
conditions of a license if the application is selected, and failure to
satisfy the conditions will be cause for revocation or denial of renewal.

4. Minimum Qualifications for Applicant
a. An individual applicant for a license under this chapter shall be a
natural person that:
1. Is twenty-one (21) years of age or older;
ii. Isa current resident of the state of Arkansas and has been a resident
for seven (7) consecutive years prior to the date of application;
5



il.

1v.

VI.

Vil.

i

ii.
1.

Has not previously held a license for a eultivation—faeility—or
dispensary-licensed facility that has been revoked;

Has no ownership in any other cultivation facility in the state of

Arkansas;

Has not been convicted of a felony offense;

[f possessing a professional license, that the license is in good

standing; and

Has no outstanding tax delinquencies owed to the State of

Arkansas_or the federal government.

b. If the applicant is applying on behalf of an entity, in addition to (a) of
this Section, the individual applicant:

Shall be legally authorized to submit an application on behalf of the

entity;

Shall serve as the primary point of contact with the Commission;
Shall submit sufficient proof that:

l.

2

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer under
the age of twenty-one (21);

. Sixty percent (60%) of the equity ownership interests in

the entity are held by individuals who have been residents
of the state for at least seven (7) consecutive years prior to
the application date;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

previously been an owner of a dispensary—or
eultivationlicensed facility that has had its license revoked;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

ownership in any other cultivation facility in the state of
Arkansas;

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has
been convicted of a felony offense.

If an owner, board member, or officer has or had a
professional license, that the license is in good standing;
and

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that
owes delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the
federal government.

¢. Applicants shall provide proof of assets or a surety bond in the amount

of $1,000,000.00, and proof of at least $500,000.00 in liquid assets.
[f an applicant posts a surety bond, the bond shall be maintained

ks

until;

1.

An applicant withdraws an application;

6



2.

3

An applicant’s application is denied by the commission;
or

An applicant, following selection by the commission for a
cultivation facility license, pays the licensing fee and posts
the performance bond required in Section 1V.10.a. and
Section IV.10.c.

d. Applicants shall provide a complete application with responses for each
required item.
5. Documentation and Information for Applicant
a. An individual applicant shall provide the following required

information:

1. Legal name;
i1. Date of birth;
iii. Legal residence;
iv. Social security number or Tax Identification Number;
v. Mailing address or principal residence address if different from the
mailing address;
vi. Phone number;
vii. Email address; and
viil. Statement of individual’s authority to act on behalf of an entity, if
applicable.
b. The following supporting documents shall be submitted at the time of

application:

i. To establish legal name an applicant must present at least one (1)
of the following source documents:

L

o

Certified copy of a birth certificate or marriage certificate
filed with a state office of vital statistics or equivalent
agency in the individual’s state of birth or marriage;

. Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or U.S. passport card;
. Consular report of birth abroad Form FS-240, DS-1350 or

FS-545 issued by the U.S. Commission of State;
Valid, unexpired permanent resident card (Form I1-551)
issued by the Commission of Homeland Security (DHS)

or the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
(USCIS);

. Unexpired employment authorization document issued by

the Commission of Homeland Security, Form 1-766 or
Form [-688B;

Unexpired foreign passport with the following: a valid,
unexpired U.S. visa affixed, and an approved 1-94 form

7



ii.

il.

iv.

documenting the applicant’s most recent admittance into
the United States or a Commission of Homeland Security
admittance stamp on the passport;

7. Certificate of naturalization issued by Commission of

Homeland Security, Form N-550 or Form N-570;

8. Certificate of citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561,

issued by Commission of Homeland Security;

9. Court-issued, certified copy of a divorce decree; or

10.Certified copy of a legal change of name order.

To establish date of birth an applicant must present at least one (1)
of the following source documents:

I. At least one document included in clauses (1) through (10)

of subparagraph (i) of this paragraph; and

2. A photocopy of the individual’s valid, unexpired driver’s

license or government issued photo identification card.
To establish residency in the State of not less than seven (7) years
preceding the application, an applicant must present at least two (2)
of the following source documents:

1. Arkansas tax return Form AR1000 for each of the seven
years preceding the application without schedules,
worksheets, or attachments, and redacted to remove all
financial information and all but the last four digits of the
individual’s social security number;

. Evidence of voter registration for the seven years
preceding the application;

3. Ownership, lease, or rental documents for place of primary

domicile for the seven (7) years preceding the application;

4. Billing statements including utility bills for the seven (7)

years preceding the application; or

5. Vehicle registration for the seven (7) years preceding the

application.
To establish proof of no felony convictions or other disqualifying
background information, an individual applicant shall provide
consent to a background check, including fingerprinting; and
Individuals applying on behalf of an entity must also provide the
following proof:

I. Documentation of the ownership of the entity; and

2. Documentation demonstrating that sixty percent (60%) of

the equity ownership interests in the entity are held by
individuals who have been residents of the state of

R
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Arkansas for seven (7) years prior to the application.
Documentation sufficient to satisfy this requirement shall
be the same as required of an individual in subsection
(b)(iii);

3. Documentation proving that each of the entity’s owners,
board members, and officers are over the age of twenty-
one (21). Documentation sufficient to satisfy this
requirement shall be the same as required of an individual
in subsections (b)(i) and (b)(ii); and

4. Consents for criminal background checks for each owner,
board members, and officers of the entity.

c. Applicants shall provide proof that the proposed location of the
cultivation facility is at least three thousand (3,000) feet from a public
or private school, church, or daycare existing before the date of the
cultivation facility application pursuant to the Arkansas Medical
Marijuana Amendment of 2016. The distance specified in this section
shall be measured from the primary entrance to the cultivation facility
to the nearest property line point of the school, church, or daycare
facility;

d. Applicants shall provide proof of authorization to occupy the property
for the proposed cultivation facility. To establish proof the applicant
shall provide one of the following:

1. If the property is owned by the applicant, the applicant shall
provide: confirmation of land ownership, identification of any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders; and, if applicable,
verification of notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien
holders that the property is to be used as a medical marijuana
cultivation facility, and consent thereto by any mortgagees and
perfected lien holders;

il. If the property is not owned, but is currently leased by the
applicant, the applicant shall provide a copy of the lease;
confirmation of land ownership, identification of any mortgagees
and perfected lienholders; a written statement from the property
owner or landlord, certifying consent that the applicant, if
awarded a license, may operate a medical marijuana cultivation
facility on the property, and, if applicable, verification of
notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien holders that the
property is to be used as a medical marijuana cultivation facility,
and consent thereto by any mortgagees and perfected lien holders;

iil. If the property is not owned or leased by the applicant, the
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applicant shall provide: a written statement from the property
owner or landlord certifying consent that the applicant has the
option to lease or purchase the property, contingent upon the
issuance of a cultivation facility license; and if applicable,
verification of notification by the property owner to any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders that the property is to be
used for a medical marijuana cultivation facility, and consent
thereto by any mortgagees and perfected lienholders.

e. Ifthe city, town, or county in which the cultivation facility would be
located has enacted zoning restrictions, applicants shall submit a
sworn statement certifying that the cultivation facility will operate in
compliance with the restrictions.

f. The information and documents shall be submitted in a method
prescribed by the commission in the notice of open application.

6. Background Checks

a. The following are subject to background checks conducted by the
commission or its designee in considering an application for a
cultivation facility license:

i. The individual applicant;

ii. All owners, officers, and board members of an entity seeking to
apply for a cultivation license through its designated individual
applicant; and

iii. Agents of any of the above persons.

b. A person subject to background checks as provided in subsection (a)
shall be disqualified as an individual applicant, be prohibited from
entering a cultivation facility, be prohibited from being an owner,
officer or board member of a cultivation facility, and be prohibited from
having any responsibility for operating a cultivation facility if the
person has been convicted of a felony offense.

c. Each person undergoing a background check shall provide written
consent and all applicable processing fees to the commission or its
designee to conduct the background check.

7. Application Fee

a. Each application for a cultivation license shall include an application

fee of $15,000.00 by cash or certified funds. Certified checks or

cashier’s checks shall be made payable to the state of Arkansas,
delivered or mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
address specified in the notice of open application.

b. In the event an applicant is not successful in his or her application,
$7,500.00 of the initial application fee of shall be refunded to the
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applicant.

c. An application is not complete and will not be considered unless all
required information, documentation, and the application fee are timely
received by the commission.

8. Verification of Application

a. No later than ten (10) business days following the receipt of an
application, the commission shall verify that the application and
supporting documentation is complete, and the information submitted
in the application is true and valid, and meets the requirements of
Section IV 4. and Section IV.5.

b. Applications that meet the requirements of Section IV.4. and Section
IV.5. shall be placed into the pool of applicants for further review and
selection based on merit, and the commission shall notify the applicant
in writing that the application was successfully verified.

c. Applications that do not meet the requirements of Section I1V.4. and
Section IV.5. shall be denied pursuant to Section IV.12.and the
commission shall notify the applicant in writing.

9. Selection Process and Criteria Based on Merit Selection.

a. In addition to documentation establishing minimum qualifications, the
applicant shall submit responses to the commission’s merit criteria in a
form and manner prescribed by the commission. Criterion shall be
published with the initial notice of open application.

b. The commission shall consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section I1V.8.:

i. Ability to operate a business, including but not limited to education,

knowledge, and experience with:
1. Regulated industries;

Agriculture or horticulture;
Commercial manufacturing;
Creating and implementing a business plan, including a
timeline for opening a business;
Creating and implementing a financial plan;
Secure inventory tracking and control;
The cultivation and production of marijuana;

Owning or managing a business that required twenty-four
hour security monitoring;
9. Owning and managing a business that has not had its
business license revoked; and
10.Any other experience the applicant considers relevant.
ii. Plan for operating a medical marijuana cultivation facility in

il
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iii.

V.

compliance with applicable laws and regulations—rules and
demonstrating planning sufficient to prove the applicant’s:

L;

Ability to manufacture approved medical marijuana
products, each with a consistent cannabinoid profile and
each able to pass the required quality control testing as
further described in the rules and—+egulations—of the
Arkansas Department of Health;

Ability to produce sufficient quantities of approved
medical marijuana products as necessary to meet the needs
of individuals with qualifying medical conditions;

. Ability to comply with the security requirements as

described in the rules and-—regulations—of the Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

Ability to comply with regwlatiens-rules of the Arkansas
Department of Health and the Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division regarding the inventory and
tracking of marijuana products;

. Ability to comply with the recordkeeping requirements of

the Arkansas Department of Health and the Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

Ability to maintain effective control against diversion of
marijuana and marijuana products;

Ability to comply with requirements for signage,
packaging, labeling, and chain of custody of products;

. Ability to comply with requirements for the transportation

and marketing of products.

. Ability to comply with all other laws and regulations

regarding the operation of a medical marijuana cultivation
facility.

Proof that the applicant is ready, willing, and able to properly carry
out the activities of a medical marijuana cultivation facility,
including a plan for operating a medical marijuana cultivation
facility and a timeline for opening the cultivation facility and
beginning production;

Proof of financial stability and access to financial resources,
including but not limited to:

l.

2.

Legal sources of finances immediately available to begin
operating a cultivation facility;

Possession of, or the right to use, sufficient real property,
and equipment to properly carry on the activity described
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in the operating plan;

. A summary of financial statements in businesses

previously or currently owned or operated by the
applicant;

A financial plan for operating a medical marijuana
cultivation facility in Arkansas;

Good credit history;

No history of bankruptcy filings by the applicant or
entities owned or operated by the applicant for eight (8)
years prior to the date of application.

¢. The commission may consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section IV.8.:
1. Affiliation with a Medical Doctor, Doctor of Osteopathy, or Doctor
of Pharmacy.
Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed cultivation facility will
positively impact the economy and diversity of the area in which
the facility is to be located.

ii.

1.

L.

Economic impact shall be assessed using the Arkansas
Economic Development Commission’s tier-ranking of
counties based on the following factors: poverty rate,
population growth, per capita personal income, and
unemployment rate. Consideration shall be given based
on the AEDC'’s tier ranking of the county of the proposed
cultivation facility as it exists on the date of the
application.

Factors that may be considered in determining an
applicant’s impact on the diversity of the area include, but
are not limited to, ownership by minority groups,
ownership by veterans, and ownership by women.

Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed cultivation facility will
provide a benefit to the community in which the facility is to be
located. Factors that may be considered include, but are not limited

to:

L.

2

Any proposed substance abuse plan to be implemented by
the cultivation facility.

. Any proposed compassionate care plan to be implemented

by the cultivation facility.

. Any proposed plan for research, education, and promotion

of patient and public safety to be implemented by the
cultivation facility.
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4. Local ownership percentage, meaning the percentage of
ownership held by Arkansas residents.
. Each merit criterion will be worth a number of points announced by the
commission in the notice of open application period.
. A review panel comprised of members of the Medical Marijuana
Commission shall evaluate the applications and award points for each
merit criterion. The points shall be totaled for each application and the
applications ranked from the highest total score to the lowest total
score. The commission shall notify in writing each of the applicants of
their respective score and their respective ranking among all applicants.
The highest ranking applicants, equal to the amount of available
licenses, shall have the first opportunity to submit the required license
fee and post the performance bond required under these rules for the
available licenses. If any applicant fails to pay the fee and post the bond
within the required period of time, then their application shall be denied
for the appropriate reason under Section IV.12. of these rules. The
commission shall then inform the next highest scoring applicant, and
they shall have the opportunity to submit the required license fee and
post the performance bond required under these rules for the available
license.
. The commission shall hold unselected applications in reserve to offer a
license to the next highest scoring applicant if the highest scoring
applicant fails to pay the licensing fee and post the performance bond
in accordance with Section 1V.10. When all available licenses within
each application period have been issued, the commission shall remove
all unselected applications from its list of reserved applications and
notify all applicants; however, the commission shall have the option to
maintain the list of reserved applications for 24 months from the
issuance date of the initial licenses in any application period.
. The commission may initiate the selection process for cultivation
facilities upon determining that there are not enough cultivation
facilities to supply the dispensaries within the state, or upon revocation
of any existing license by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

i. If the commission determines that more licenses should be issued
within 24 months following the issuance of licenses in the most
recent application period, and it has exercised its option to maintain
the reserve list from the last application period, the commission
shall offer the next highest scoring applicant from the applications
held in reserve the opportunity to pay the licensing fee and post the
performance bond in accordance with Section IV.10.
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ii. If the commission determines more licenses should be issued, and
the commission did not exercise the option to maintain a reserve
list or the decision is made after the 24 months following the
issuance of licenses in the most recent application period, the
commission shall solicit new applications in accordance with these
rules.

[f the commission must break a tie in scoring among applicants, the

following procedure shall be followed:

i. Applicants with identical scores shall draw a number between one
(1) and a number equal to the number of applicants with the
identical score. Applicants will then repeat the drawing of numbers
in the order determined by the first drawing. The tied applicants
will be ranked according to the number pulled from the second
drawing. The applicant who draws the number (1) will have the
highest rank among the tied applicants.

10.Licensing Fee and Issuance of License

a.

Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant shall submit to the commission a
cultivation facility license fee of $100,000.00 in cash or certified funds.
Any certified or cashier’s check shall be made payable to the State of
Arkansas.

[f the licensing fee is not timely paid, the selected applicant will be
disqualified, and the commission shall select the next highest scoring
applicant within the group of applications in accordance with Section
IV.9.

Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant shall submit to the commission a
performance bond in the amount of $500,000.00. The bond shall be
maintained until the cultivation facility files its first required sales tax
report with the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration for
the sale of usable marijuana.

[f the performance bond is not timely posted, the selected applicant will
be disqualified, and the commission shall notify the next available
applicant as determined by the merit selection process in Section IV.9.
After the license fees and performance bond are timely tendered in an
acceptable form, the applicant shall be awarded a license and a
registration number.

Upon issuance of a cultivation facility license, and following inspection
required by Alcoholic Beverage Control Division Rules—and
Regulations, the cultivation facility licensee may begin operations.
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g. The cultivation facility licensee shall visibly post a copy of its license
at the cultivation facility covered under the license.

h. A license that is initially issued between Jan. 1 and July 1 may have the
licensing fee prorated up to 50 percent of the total fee as determined by
the commission.

11. Term

a. A license shall expire on June 30 of each calendar year and is renewable
on or before June 30 of each calendar year for the fiscal year beginning
July 1, unless the license is:

i. Suspended or revoked by the division; or

ii. Surrendered by the cultivation facility licensee.

iii. Replaced with the issuance of a temporary license

12.Denial of Application for or Renewal of a License

a. The commission may deny an application for or renewal of a license
for any of the following reasons:

i. Failure to provide the information required in these rules;

ii. Failure to meet the requirements set forth in these rules or the rules
of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division;

iii. Provision of misleading, incorrect, false, or fraudulent information;

iv. Failure to pay all applicable fees as required;

v. Failure to post a performance bond naming the state as the secured
party, as required by Section 1V.10.c.;

vi. Receipt of an application evaluation score lower than the successful
applicants for a cultivation facility in the pool period for which the
applicant applied;

vil. An applicant, owner, board member, or officer has a background
history that indicates the applicant does not have a reputable and
responsible character or would pose a risk to the health, safety, or
welfare of the public or qualifying patients; or

viii. Any other ground that serves the purpose of these rules or the rules
of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division.

b. If the commission denies an application for or renewal of a license, the
commission shall notify the applicant in writing of the commission’s
decision, including the reason for the denial.

13.License Renewal Process and Fee
a. A license may be renewed if the cultivation facility licensee:
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i. Submits to the commission a renewal application on a form and in
a manner prescribed by the commission at least sixty (60) days prior
to the expiration date on the license;

ii. Is in good standing with the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office

iii. Continues to be in good standing with the Arkansas Department of
Finance and Administration; and

iv. Continues to meet all the requirements set out in these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division.

b. Before renewing a license, the commission may require further
information and documentation and may conduct additional
background checks to determine that the licensee continues to meet
the requirements of these rules, the rules of the Arkansas Department
of Health, or Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

c. Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice from the commission
that its renewal application has been approved, the cultivation facility
licensee shall pay the annual renewal fee of $100,000.00 in certified
funds. Any certified or cashier’s check shall be payable to the state of
Arkansas.

d. A cultivation facility licensee whose license is not renewed shall cease
all operations immediately upon expiration of the license and return the
license to the commission.

e. Any marijuana or marijuana products remaining at the facility shall be
destroyed or transferred pursuant to Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage
Control Rules-and-Regulations.

f. Upon the determination that a cultivation facility licensee has not met
the requirements for renewal, the commission shall provide written
notice by certified mail or personal delivery to the licensee. The notice
shall provide an explanation for the denial of the renewal application.

The licensee may request a hearing before the Commission pursuant to
Section IV.19.b.of these Rules.
14.Surrender of License
a. A cultivation facility may voluntarily surrender a license to the
commission at any time.
b. If a cultivation facility voluntarily surrenders a license, the cultivation
facility shall:
i. Return the license to the commission;
ii. Submit a report to the commission including the reason for
surrendering the license; contact information following the close of
business; the person or persons responsible for the close of the
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business; and where business records will be retained; and

iii. Any marijuana or marijuana products remaining at the facility
shall be destroyed or transferred pursuant to Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Rules-and-Regulations.

iv. No portion of the licensing fee shall be returned to the cultivation
facility licensee if the license is voluntarily surrendered prior to the
expiration of the license.

15.Change in Information

a.

b.

The cultivation facility licensee shall notify the commission of any

changes in contact information.

The cultivation facility licensee shall notify the commission in writing

no less than fourteen (14) days in advance of any change that may affect

the licensee’s qualifications for licensure, and submit to the
commission supporting documentation to prove the cultivation facility

licensee continues to be qualified. In the event of a change for which a

cultivation facility licensee does not have prior notice, the licensee shall

notify the commission immediately upon learning of the change.

Pursuant to section (b), the licensee shall notify the commission of the

following:

i. The arrest or conviction for any felony of any individual listed in
an application or subsequently identified as an applicant, licensee
or individual with a financial interest;

ii. Any alterations to the floor plan of the facility, including, but not
limited to, any increase or decrease in the total footprint or
production capacity of the facility.

iii. The filing of bankruptcy by the entity holding the license or by any
of the entity’s owners;

iv. The temporary closure of the business for any reason for longer
than fifteen (15 ) days;

v. The permanent closure of the business; and

vi. Any other change that may affect the licensee’s qualification for
licensure.

If the commission determines that the change has the potential to

disqualify a licensee, the commission shall refer the matter to the

Alcoholic Beverage Control Division for adjudication.

16.Transfer of License

a.

b.

Licenses shall only be effective for the individuals identified in the
original application.

A licensee may not sell, transfer, or otherwise dispose of his or her
license to another individual without approval from the commission.
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d.

A licensee may only sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of his or her
license to another natural person.

An individual who holds a license through its individual agent shall not
make any modification to the individual’s ownership, board members,
or officers as designated in the initial application without approval from
the commission.

A licensee’s failure to obtain approval from the commission before
engaging in ownership changes described in (b) and (c¢) above shall
result in commission’s revocation of that license.

In order to obtain approval to transfer ownership of a license or of an
entity that holds a license by its individual agent, principals in
ownership, board members, or officers, the licensee shall submit to the
commission an application for license transferal on a form and in a
manner prescribed by the commission.

[f the commission denies an application for transfer of license, the
commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal
delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
commission pursuant to Section 1V.19.b. of this Rule.

| 7. Transfer of Location

a.

b.

A cultivation facility license shall only be valid at the location for which

it was originally issued by the commission. '

A licensee shall not re-locate a cultivation facility without prior

approval by the commission.

In order to obtain approval to transfer a cultivation facility license to

another location, a licensee shall submit the following to the

commission:

1. An application for license transferal on a form and in a manner
prescribed by the commission;

ii. Proof that the proposed location of the cultivation facility is at least
three thousand (3,000) feet from a public or private school, church,
or daycare existing before the date of the cultivation facility transfer
application pursuant to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana
Amendment of 2016. The distance specified in this section shall
be measured from the primary entrance of the cultivation facility to
the nearest property line point of the school, church, or daycare
facility; and

ii1. Copies of any changes to Fthe criteria set forth in Section I1V.9.b.ii.
of these Rules if any changes were necessary due to the change of
location.
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d.

If the commission denies an application for transfer of location, the
commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal
delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
commission pursuant to Section IV.19.b. of these Rules.

18.Issuance of Temporary License

a.

The commission may issue a temporary license to another natural
person in conjunction with a cultivation facility when the natural person
applicant whose name is on the license of the cultivation facility ceases
to be in actual control of the cultivation facility.

A temporary license will be valid for no more than 60 days from the
date of issuance.

The issuance of a temporary license by the commission will
immediately terminate the license which is to be replaced.

The natural person to whom a temporary license is issued must meet
the requirements of Section 1V.4, 5 & 6 of these rules.

A temporary license can only be issued at the request of the natural
person to whom a license was issued, that person’s heirs, or the entity
on whose behalf the individual applicant held the license.

A temporary license cannot be transferred, sold or otherwise disposed
of without the approval of the commission.

A temporary license can be renewed in a manner consistent with a
license to operate a cultivation facility under Section IV.13 of these
rules.

19.Appellate Procedure following Denial of Application—for-License; Renewal,
Transfer of License, or Location.

a.If the commission denies an application for the renewal of a cultivation

facility license, the transfer of a license, or the transfer of the location
for a license, the licensee may request a hearing before the
Commission by filing a written request no later than fifteen (15)
days from receipt of the notice of denial from the commission.
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t:b.  The commission shall conduct a hearing no later than sixty (60)
days from the receipt of the request for hearing. The commission shall
provide notice of the hearing to all interested parties, conduct the
hearing, and issue a decision in accordance with the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.

t#-c. The commission’s decision may be appealed to the circuit court of
the county in which the cultivation facility is situated or the Pulaski
County Circuit Court. Appeals shall be governed by the terms of the
Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.
20.Hiring of Consultants
a. The commission may retain the services of a contractor or consultant.
i. The selection of any contractor or consultant shall be conducted
pursuant to the procurement laws of the State of Arkansas.
ii. The recommendations and findings of any contractor or consultant
shall not be final and binding unless approved by a majority vote of

the commuission.

SECTION V.
DISPENSARY
APPLICATION, LICENSING, & RENEWAL
1. License Required

a. No person shall operate a medical marijuana dispensary unless the
person has a license issued by the commission pursuant to this chapter.

b. Each license for a dispensary shall specify:

i.  The name of the individual who holds the license;
ii.  The address of the individual who holds the license;
iii.  The effective dates of the license;
iv.  The address of the licensed facility.
2. Licenses Available

a. The commission shall issue at least twenty (20), but no more than forty
(40), dispensary licenses.

b. Licenses shall be distributed within eight (8) geographic zones, to
assure that dispensaries are available throughout the state. A dispensary
license shall only be valid in the geographic zone where it was awarded.

c. It shall be within the commission’s discretion to make licenses
available.

d. When it has been determined that new licenses are available or
appropriate, the commission shall notify the public at large by legal
notice that it will be accepting applications for a dispensary license.
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e. The commission will create application pools for dispensary licenses
based on the eight (8) identified geographic zones to ensure that
dispensaries are distributed equally through the state. A dispensary
license will only be valid for the designated zone and cannot be used in
another zone.

f. No individual shall have interest in more than one (1) Arkansas
cultivation facility and one (1) Arkansas dispensary.

g. In accordance with the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of
2016, there shall be no more than four (4) dispensaries in any one (1)
county.

3. Application

a. An application for a dispensary license shall include both an individual
applicant and an applying entity and they shall apply to the commission
on a form and in a manner prescribed by the commission.

b. Applications will be accepted for the dispensary license beginning ten
(10) days after the date of publication of the legal notice by the

commission, and no applications will be accepted after ninety (90)
days of the publication date.

c. Information and statements provided in an application shall become
conditions of a license if the application is selected, and failure to
satisfy the conditions will be cause for revocation or denial of renewal.

4. Minimum Qualifications for Applicant

a. An applicant for a license under this chapter shall be a natural person
that:

i. Is twenty-one (21) years of age or older;

ii. Is a current resident of the state of Arkansas and has been a
resident for seven (7) consecutive years prior to the date of
application;

iii. Has not previously held a license for a eultivationfacility—or
dispensarylicensed facility that has been revoked,;

iv. Has no ownership in any other dispensary in the state of
Arkansas;

v. Has not been convicted of a felony offense;

vi. If possessing a professional license, that the license is in good
standing; and

vii. Has no outstanding tax delinquencies owed to the State of
Arkansas_or the federal government.

b. If the applicant is applying on behalf of an entity, in addition to (a) of

this Section, the individual applicant:
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1. Shall be legally authorized to submit an application on behalf of
the entity;
ii. Shall serve as the primary point of contact with the commission;
1i1.  Shall submit sufficient proof that:

I

2.

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer under
the age of twenty-one (21);

Sixty percent (60%) of the equity ownership interests in
the entity are held by individuals who have been residents
of the state for at least seven (7) consecutive years prior to
the application date;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

previously been an owner of a dispensary—or
eultivationlicensed facility that has had its license revoked;

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has
ownership in any other dispensary in the state of Arkansas;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

been convicted of a felony offense; and

. If an owner, board member, or officer has or had a

professional license, that the license is in good standing;
and

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that

owes delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the
federal government.

c. Applicants shall provide proof of assets or a surety bond in the amount
of $200,000.00 and proof of at least $100,000.00 in liquid assets.
1. If an applicant posts a surety bond, the bond shall be maintained

until:
l.
2.

3;

An applicant withdraws an application;

An applicant’s application is denied by the commission;
or

An applicant, following selection by the commission for a
dispensary license, pays the licensing fee and performance
bond required in Section V.10.a. and Section V.10.c.

d. Applicants shall provide a complete application with responses for each
required item.
5. Documentation and Information for Applicant
a. An individual applicant shall provide the following required

information:

i. Legal name;
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ii.
iii.
v.

Vi.
Vil.
Viil.

application:
.

il.

Date of birth;

Legal residence;

Social security number;

Mailing address or principal residence address if different from
the mailing address;

Phone number;

Email address; and

Statement of individual’s authority to act on behalf of an entity,
if applicable.

b. The following supporting documents shall be submitted at the time of

To establish legal name an applicant must present at least one (1)
of the following source documents:

1.

8.

9.

Certified copy of a birth certificate or marriage certificate
filed with a state office of vital statistics or equivalent
agency in the individual’s state of birth or marriage;
Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or U.S. passport card;

. Consular report of birth abroad Form FS-240, DS-1350 or

FS-545 issued by the U.S. Commission of State;

. Valid, unexpired permanent resident card (Form I1-551)

issued by the Commission of Homeland Security (DHS)
or the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
(USCIS);

. Unexpired employment authorization document issued by

the Commission of Homeland Security, Form 1-766 or
Form [-688B;

Unexpired foreign passport with the following: a valid,
unexpired U.S. visa affixed, and an approved 1-94 form
documenting the applicant’s most recent admittance into
the United States or a Commission of Homeland Security
admittance stamp on the passport;

Certificate of naturalization issued by Commission of
Homeland Security, Form N-550 or Form N-570;
Certificate of citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561,
issued by Commission of Homeland Security;
Court-issued, certified copy of a divorce decree; or

10.Certified copy of a legal change of name order;
To establish date of birth an applicant must present at least one
(1) of the following source documents:
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2,

At least one document included in clauses (1) through (10)
of subparagraph (i) of this paragraph; and

A photocopy of the individual’s valid, unexpired driver’s
license or government issued photo identification card.

iii. To establish residency in the State of not less than seven (7) years
preceding the application, an applicant must present at least one
(1) of the following source documents:

1.

Arkansas tax return Form AR1000 for each of the seven
years preceding the application without schedules,
worksheets, or attachments, and redacted to remove all
financial information and all but the last four digits of the
individual’s social security number;

Evidence of voter registration for the seven years
preceding the application;

. Ownership, lease, or rental documents for place of primary

domicile for the seven (7) years preceding the application;
Billing statements including utility bills for the seven (7)
years preceding the application; or

. Vehicle registration for the seven (7) years preceding the

application.

iv. To establish proof of no felony convictions or other disqualifying
background information, an individual applicant shall provide
consent to a background check, including fingerprinting; and

v. Individuals applying on behalf of an entity must also provide the
following proof:

1.

2

Documentation of the ownership of the entity; and

Documentation demonstrating that sixty percent (60%) of
the equity ownership interests in the entity are held by
individuals who have been residents of the state of
Arkansas for seven (7) years prior to the application.
Documentation sufficient to satisfy this requirement shall
be the same as required of an individual in subsection

(b)(iii);

. Board members, and officers are over the age of twenty-

one (21). Documentation sufficient to satisfy this
requirement shall be the same as required of an individual
in subsections (b) and (¢); and

Consents for criminal background checks for each owner,
board members, and officers of the entity.
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c. Applicants shall provide proof that the proposed location of the
dispensary is at least one thousand five hundred (1,500) feet from a
public or private school, church, e daycare, or facility for individuals
with developmental disabilities existing before the date of the
dispensary application pursuant to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana
Amendment of 2016. The distance specified in this section shall be
measured from the primary entrance of the dispensary to the nearest
property line point of the school, church, erdaycare facility, or facility
for individuals with developmental disabilities; and

d. Applicants shall provide proof of authorization to occupy the property
for the proposed dispensary. To establish proof the applicant shall
provide one of the following:

i. If the property is owned by the applicant, the applicant shall
provide: confirmation of land ownership, identification of any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders; and, if applicable,
verification of notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien
holders that the property is to be used as a medical marijuana
dispensary, and consent thereto by any mortgagees and
perfected lien holders;

il. If the property is not owned, but is currently leased by the
applicant, the applicant shall provide a copy of the lease;
confirmation of land ownership, identification of any

mortgagees and perfected lienholders; a written statement from
the property owner or landlord, certifying consent that the
applicant, if awarded a license, may operate a medical
marijuana dispensary on the property, and, if applicable,
verification of notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien
holders that the property is to be used as a medical marijuana
dispensary, and consent thereto by any mortgagees and
perfected lien holders;

iii. If the property is not owned or leased by the applicant, the
applicant shall provide: a written statement from the property
owner or landlord certifying consent that the applicant has the
option to lease or purchase the property, contingent upon the
issuance of a dispensary license; and if applicable, verification
of notification by the property owner to any mortgagees and
perfected lienholders that the property is to be used for a
medical marijuana dispensary, and consent thereto by any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders.
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€.

f.

If the city, town, or county in which the dispensary would be located
has enacted zoning restrictions, applicants shall submit a sworn
statement certifying that the dispensary will operate in compliance
with the restrictions.

The information and documents shall be submitted in a method
prescribed by the commission in the notice of open application.

6. Background Checks

a.

The following are subject to background checks conducted by the
commission or its designee in considering an application for a
dispensary license:

i. The individual applicant;

ii. All owners, officers, and board members of an entity seeking to
apply for a dispensary license through its designated individual
applicant; and

iil. Agents of any of the above persons.

b. Each person undergoing a background check shall provide written

consent and all applicable processing fees to the commission or its
designee to conduct the background check.

7. Application Fee

a.

C.

Each application for a dispensary license shall include an application
fee of $7,500.00 in cash or certified funds. Any certified check or
cashier’s check shall be made payable to state of Arkansas, and
delivered or mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
address specified in the notice of open application.

In the event an applicant is not successful in his or her application,
$3,750.00 of the initial application fee shall be refunded to the
applicant.

An application is not complete and will not be considered unless the
application fee is received with the application by the deadline.

8. Verification of Application

a.

After receipt of an application, the commission shall verify that the
application and supporting documentation is complete, and the
information submitted in the application is true and valid.

b. Applications that meet the requirements of Section V.4. and V.5 shall

be placed into the pool of applicants for further review and selection
based on merit. The commission shall notify the applicant in writing
that the application was successfully verified.

Applications that do not meet the requirements of Section V.4. and
Section V.5 shall be denied pursuant to Section V.12, and the
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commission shall notify the applicant in writing.

9. Selection Process and Criteria Based on Merit Selection

a. In addition to documentation establishing minimum qualifications, the
applicant shall submit responses to the commission’s merit criteria in a
form and manner prescribed by the commission. Criterion shall be

published with the initial notice of application.

b. The commission shall consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section V.8:
i. Ability to operate a business, including, but not limited to

education, knowledge, and experience with:
1. Regulated industries;

Agriculture or horticulture;

Commercial manufacturing;

&0

timeline for opening a business;

Secure inventory tracking and control;

Do O W

hour security monitoring;

Creating and implementing a business plan, including a
Creating and implementing a financial plan;

The cultivation and production of marijuana;
Owning or managing a business that required twenty-four

9. Owning and managing a business that has not had its

business license revoked; and

10.Any other experience the applicant considers relevant.
ii. Plan for operating a dispensary in compliance with applicable
laws and regulations—rules and demonstrating planning

sufficient to prove the applicant’s:

[. Ability to manufacture approved medical marijuana
products, each with a consistent cannabinoid profile and
each able to pass the required quality control testing as

further described in the rules and—regulations—of the

Arkansas Department of Health;

2. Ability to produce sufficient quantities of approved
medical marijuana products as necessary to meet the needs
of individuals with qualifying medical conditions;

3. Ability to comply with the security requirements as
described in the rules and-—regulations—of the Arkansas

Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

4. Ability to comply with regulatiens-rules of the Arkansas
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1.

1v.

Department of Health and the Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division regarding the inventory and
tracking of marijuana products;

. Ability to comply with the recordkeeping requirements of

Arkansas Department of Health and the Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

Ability to maintain effective control against diversion of
marijuana and marijuana products;

. Ability to comply with requirements for signage,

packaging, labeling, and chain of custody of products; and

. Ability to comply with all other laws and regulations

rules regarding the operation of a medical marijuana
dispensary.

Proof that the applicant is ready, willing, and able to properly
carry out the activities of a medical marijuana dispensary,
including a plan for operating a medical marijuana dispensary
and a timeline for opening the dispensary;

Proof of financial stability and access to financial resources,
including but not limited to:

l.

2.

W

Legal sources of finances immediately available to begin
operating a dispensary;

Possession of, or the right to use, sufficient real property,
and equipment to properly carry on the activity described
in the operating plan;

. A summary of financial statements in businesses

previously or currently owned or operated by the
applicant;

A financial plan for operating a medical marijuana
dispensary in Arkansas;

Good credit history;

No history of bankruptcy filings by the applicant or
entities owned or operated by the applicant for eight (8)
years prior to the date of application.

c. The commission may consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section V.8:

1.

i

Affiliation with a Medical Doctor, Doctor of Osteopathy, or

Doctor of Pharmacy.
Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed dispensary will

positively impact the economy and diversity of the area in which
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the dispensary is to be located.

I. Economic impact shall be assessed using the Arkansas
Economic Development Commission’s tier-ranking of
counties based on the following factors: poverty rate,
population growth, per capita personal income, and
unemployment rate. Consideration shall be given based
on the AEDC’s tier ranking of the county of the proposed
dispensary as it exists on the date of the application.
Factors that may be considered in determining an
applicant’s impact on the diversity of the area include, but
are not limited to, ownership by minority groups,
ownership by veterans, and ownership by women.

iii. Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed dispensary will
provide a benefit to the community in which the facility is to be
located. Factors that may be considered include, but are not
limited to:

I. Any proposed substance abuse plan to be implemented by
the dispensary.

2. Any proposed compassionate care plan to be implemented
by the dispensary.

3. Any proposed plan for research, education, and promotion
of patient and public safety to be implemented by the
dispensary.

4. Local ownership percentage, meaning the percentage of
ownership held by Arkansas residents.

g

d. Each merit criterion will be worth a number of points announced by the

€.

commission in the notice of open application period.

A review panel comprised of members of the Medical Marijuana
Commission shall evaluate the applications and award points for each
merit criterion. The points shall be totaled for each application and the
applications ranked from the highest total score to the lowest total score
within each geographic zone. The commission shall notify in writing
each of the applicants of their respective score and their respective
ranking among all applicants within the applicable geographic zone.
The highest ranking applicants in each zone, equal to the amount of
available licenses in each zone, shall have the first opportunity to
submit the required license fee and post the performance bond required
under these rules for the available licenses. If any applicant fails to pay
the fee and post the bond within the required period of time, then their
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application shall be denied for the appropriate reason under Section
V.12. of these rules. The commission shall then inform the next highest
scoring applicant within the applicable zone, and they shall have the
opportunity to submit the required license fee and post the performance
bond required under these rules for the available license.

g. The commission shall hold unselected applications in reserve to offer a
license to the next highest scoring applicant within a zone if the highest
scoring applicant within that zone fails to pay the licensing fee and post
the performance bond in accordance with Section V.10. Unselected
applications shall remain in reserve for 24 months from the issuance
date of the initial licenses in any application period.

h. The commission may initiate the selection process for dispensary
licenses upon determining that there are not enough dispensaries to
supply qualified patients within the state, or upon revocation of any
existing license by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

1. If the commission determines that more licenses should be issued
within 24 months following the issuance of licenses in the most
recent application period, the commission shall offer the
opportunity to pay the licensing fee and post the performance
bond in accordance with Seetion V.10 to the next highest scoring
applicant from the applications held in reserve for the zone where
the commission has determined a need for the license.

ii. If the commission determines that more licenses should be issued
after the 24 months following the issuance of licenses in the most
recent application period, the commission shall solicit new
applications in accordance with these rules.

i. If the commission must break a tie in scoring among applicants, the
following procedure shall be followed:

1. Applicants with identical scores shall draw a number between
one (1) and a number equal to the number of applicants with the
identical score. Applicants will then repeat the drawing of
numbers in the order determined by the first drawing. The tied
applicants will be ranked according to the number pulled from
the second drawing. The applicant who draws the number (1)
will have the highest rank among the tied applicants.

10.Licensing Fee and Issuance of License
a. Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant for a dispensary license shall submit
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to the commission a dispensary license fee of $15,000.00 in cash or
certified funds. Any certified or cashier’s check shall be made payable
to the State of Arkansas.

b. If the licensing fee is not timely paid, the selected applicant will be
disqualified, and the commission shall select the next highest scoring
applicant within that particular zone.

c. Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant shall submit to the commission a
performance bond in the amount of $100,000.00. The bond shall be
maintained until the dispensary files its first application for renewal of
the license.

d. If the performance bond is not timely posted, the selected applicant will
be disqualified, and the commission shall select the next highest scoring
applicant within that particular zone.

e. A license that is initially issued between Jan. 1 and July 1 may have the
licensing fee prorated up to 50 percent of the total fee as determined by
the commission.

f. Upon issuance of a dispensary license, and following inspection
required by Alcoholic Beverage Control Division Rules and
Regulations, the dispensary licensee may begin operations.

g. The dispensary licensee shall visibly post a copy of its license at the
dispensary covered under the license.

I1. Term

a. A license shall expire on June 30 of each calendar year and is renewable
on or before June 30 of each calendar year for the fiscal year beginning
July 1, unless the license is:

i. Suspended or revoked by the Department of Finance and
Administration — Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

ii. Surrendered by the dispensary licensee; or

iii. Replaced by a temporary license.

12.Denial of Application for or Renewal of a License
a. The commission may deny an application for or renewal of a license
for any of the following reasons:

i. Failure to provide the information required in these rules;

ii. Failure to meet the requirements set forth in these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

iii. Provision of misleading, incorrect, false, or fraudulent
information;

iv. Failure to pay all applicable fees as required;
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v. Failure to post performance bond, if required, naming the state
as a secured party;

vi. An applicant has a background history that indicates the
applicant does not have a reputable and responsible character or
would pose a risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the public or
qualifying patients; or

vii. Any other ground that serves the purpose of these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

b. If the commission denies an application for or renewal of a license, the
commission shall notify the applicant in writing of the commission’s
decision, including the reason for the denial.

13.License Renewal Process and Fee
a. A license may be renewed if the dispensary licensee:

1. Submits to the commission a renewal application on a form and
in a manner prescribed by the commission at least sixty (60) days
prior to the expiration date on the license;

il. Is in good standing with the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office;

iii. Continues to be in good standing with the Arkansas Department
of Finance and Administration; and

iv. Continues to meet all the requirements set out in these rules or
the rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

b. Before renewing a license, the commission may require further
information and documentation and may conduct additional
background checks to determine that the licensee continues to meet the
requirements set out in these rules or the rules of the Arkansas
Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division.

c. After receiving written notice from the commission that its renewal
application has been approved, the dispensary licensee shall pay the
annual renewal fee of $22,500.00 in certified funds. Any certified or
cashier’s check shall be payable to the State of Arkansas.

d. A dispensary licensee whose license is not renewed shall cease all
operations immediately upon expiration of the license, return the
license to the commission; and

e. Any marijuana or marijuana products remaining at the facility shall be
destroyed or transferred pursuant to Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage
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Control Rules-and-Regtations.
14.Surrender of License
a. A dispensary may voluntarily surrender a license to the commission at
any time.
b. If a dispensary voluntarily surrenders a license, the dispensary shall:

1.
1.

1.

Return the license to the commission;

Submit a report to the commission including the reason for
surrendering the license; contact information following the close
of business; the person or persons responsible for the close of the
business; and where business records will be retained; and
Tender all marijuana and marijuana products for destruction or
for sale to another facility in accordance with the Arkansas
Department of Finance and Administration — Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division. No portion of the licensing fee shall
be returned to the dispensary licensee if the license is voluntarily
surrendered prior to the expiration of the license.

15.Change in Information

a. The dispensary licensee shall notify the commission of any changes in
contact information.

b. The dispensary licensee shall notify the commission in writing no less
than fourteen (14) days in advance of any change that may affect the
licensee’s qualifications for licensure, and submit to the commission
supporting documentation to prove the dispensary licensee continues to
be qualified. In the event of a change for which a dispensary licensee

does not have prior notice, the licensee shall notify the commission
immediately upon learning of the change.

c. Pursuant to section (b), the licensee shall notify the commission of the
following:

1.

il.

iil.

v,

V1.

The arrest or conviction for any felony of any individual listed in
an application or subsequently identified as an applicant, licensee
or individual with a financial interest;

Any alterations to the floor plan of the facility, including, but not
limited to, any increase or decrease in the total footprint or
production capacity of the facility.

The filing of bankruptcy by the entity holding the license or by
any of the entity’s owners;

The temporary closure of the business for any reason for longer
than fifteen (15 ) days;

The permanent closure of the business;

Any other change that may affect the licensee’s qualification for
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d.

licensure.
[f the Commission determines that the change has the potential to
disqualify a licensee, the Commission shall refer the matter to the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division for adjudication.

16.License Restrictions

a.

The dispensary license shall only be applicable for use in the
geographic zone for which it is issued. A dispensary being operated
outside of its designated area will result in the dispensary’s license
being revoked.

1 7. Transfer of License

a.

b.

Licenses shall only be effective for the individuals identified in the
original application.

A licensee may not sell, transfer, or otherwise dispose of his or her
license to another individual without approval from the commission.

. A licensee may only sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of her license to

a natural person.

. An entity that holds a license through its individual agent shall not make

any modification to the entity’s ownership, board members, or officers
as designated in the initial application without approval from the
commission.

A licensee’s failure to obtain approval from the commission before
engaging in ownership changes described in (b) and (c) above shall
result in the commission’s revocation of that license.

In order to obtain approval to transfer ownership of a license or of an
entity that holds a license by its individual agent, principals in
ownership, board members, or officers, the licensee shall submit to the
commission an application for license transferal on a form and in a
manner prescribed by the commission.

If the commission denies an application for transfer of license, the
commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal
delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
Commission pursuant to Section V.20.b. of this Rule.

1 8. Transfer of Location

a.

b.

C.

A Dispensary license shall only be valid at the location for which it was
originally issued by the commission.

A licensee shall not re-locate a dispensary without prior approval by the
commission.

In order to obtain approval to transfer a dispensary license to another
location, a licensee shall submit the following to the commission:
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d.

i. An application for license transferal on a form and in a manner
prescribed by the commission;

ii. Proof that the proposed location of the dispensary is at least one-
thousand five-hundred (1,500) feet from a public or private
school, church, or daycare existing before the date of the
dispensary application for transfer pursuant to the Arkansas
Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016. The distance specified
in this section shall be measured by the distance between the
primary entrance of the cultivation facility to the nearest property
line point of the school, church, or daycare facility; and

iii. Copies of any changes to Fthe criteria set forth in Section
V.9.b.ii. of these Rules if any changes were necessary due to the
change of location..

If the Commission denies an application for transfer of location, the
commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal
delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
commission pursuant to Section V.20.b. of these Rules.

19.Issuance of Temporary License

a.

g.

The commission may issue a temporary license to another natural
person in conjunction with a dispensary when the natural person whose
name is on the license of the dispensary ceases to be in actual control
of the dispensary.

In issuing a temporary license, the commission will determine the term
of the temporary license, but at no time will a temporary license remain
valid beyond the original term of the license it replaced.

The issuance of a temporary license by the commission will
immediately terminate the license which is to be replaced.

. The natural person to whom a temporary license is issued must meet

the requirements of Section V.4, 5 & 6 of these rules.

A temporary license can only be issued at the request of the natural
person to whom a license was issued, that person’s heir, or the entity
on whose behalf the individual applicant held the license.

A temporary license cannot be transferred, sold or otherwise disposed
of without the approval of the commission.

A temporary license can be renewed in a manner consistent with a
license to operate a dispensary under Section V.13 of these rules.

20.Appellate Procedure following Denial of Applicationfor-License; Renewal,
Transfer of License, or Location.
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e-a. If the commission denies an application for the renewal of a
dispensary license, the transfer of a license, or the transfer of the location
for a license, the licensee may request a hearing before the commission
by filing a written request no later than fifteen (15) days from receipt
of the notice of denial from the commission.

b. The commission shall conduct a hearing no later than sixty (60) days
from the receipt of the request for hearing. The commission shall
provide notice of the hearing to all interested parties, conduct the
hearing, and issue a decision in accordance with the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.

d-c. The commission’s decision may be appealed to the circuit court of the
county in which the dispensary is situated or the Pulaski County Circuit
Court. Appeals shall be governed by the term
of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.

21. Hiring of Consultants
a. The commission may retain the services of a contractor or consultant.
1. The selection of any contractor or consultant shall be conducted
pursuant to the procurement laws of the State of Arkansas.
ii. The recommendations and findings of any contractor or
consultant shall not be final and binding unless approved by a
majority vote of the commission.

SECTION VI.
PROCESSOR
APPLICATION, LICENSING, & RENEWAL

1. License Required
a. No person or entity shall operate as a processor unless licensed by the
Commission pursuant to these rules.
b. Each license for a processor shall specify:
i. The name and address of the entity that holds the license:
1i. The effective dates of the license; and
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iil.

The address of the licensed processor, if different from that in

subsection 1.

c. A processer licensed under this section shall not grow or dispense

marijuana.
d. The processor licensee shall visibly post a copy of its license at the

processor facility covered under the license.

e. A processor license shall expire one (1) vear after the date of issuance.

2. Application

a. An application for a processor license shall be submitted to the

Commission on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Commission.

b. Information and statements provided in an application shall become

conditions of a license if the application is selected, and failure to satisfy

the conditions will be cause for revocation or denial of renewal.

¢. An applicant shall be required to submit, without limitation:

1

The required fee:

ii.

A performance bond in the amount of $100,000.00 that names the

iii.

state as the secured party. The bond shall be maintained until the
processor files its first application for renewal of the license.
Documentation of the entity’s organization and

1v.

ownership/management, including evidence that the applicant is
an entity incorporated in the State of Arkansas:
Sufficient evidence that each of the entity's owners, board

members, and officers:

1. Is over the age of twenty-one (21):

2. Has not previously been an owner of a dispensary,
cultivation facility, transporter, or processor that has had a
license revoked; and

3. Owes no delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the
federal government.

Consents for criminal background checks for each owner, board

Vi.

member, and officer of the entity, along with the required

processing fees:

Plan for operating a medical marijuana processor in compliance

with applicable laws and rules and demonstrating planning

sufficient to prove the applicant's ability to comply with

Division’s rules, including, without limitation:

1. Security requirements;

2. Recordkeeping requirements;

3. Transporting products;

4. Secure inventory tracking and control;
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._Sanitation and hygiene;

6. Implementation of appropriate security measures to
deter and prevent the theft of marijuana and
unauthorized entrance into areas containing marijuana
and;

7. Inspections and investigation by Alcoholic Beverage
Control Division;

8. Manufacturing and processing:

9. Personnel requirements, including employee training;
and

10.Ability to maintain effective control against diversion of
marijuana and marijuana products;

vii. Proof of financial stability and access to financial resources,
including but not limited to:
1. Legal sources of finances immediately available to begin
operating a processor;

2. Financial projections for the next five (5) years; and

3. No history of bankruptcy filings by the applicant or its
owners, officers, or board of directors for eight (8) years
prior to the date of application.

d. The application shall be signed and sworn before a notary as
being true and correct.

e. The individual signing the application on behalf of the applicant must:

1. Be an owner, officer, or agent of the entity;
ii. Provide evidence that the individual is legally authorized to sign
the application on the applicant’s behalf;,
iii.  Serve as the primary point of contact with the Commission; and
iv. Provide a contact phone number and email address.

f. A person subject to background checks as provided in these rules or any
rules promulgated by the Division or the Department shall be prohibited
from being an owner, officer or board member of a processor facility, be
prohibited from entering a processor facility, and be prohibited from
having any responsibility for operating a processor if the person has been
convicted of an excluded felony offense.

g. A processor may begin operations after being issued a license and
following inspection as required by division rules.

3. Renewal

a. The Commission shall issue a renewal license within ten (10) days of the
date the Commission receives a complete renewal application, including
the payment of a renewal fee.
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b. A renewal application for a processor license shall be submitted to the
Commission _on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Commission
at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date on the license and
shall require, without limitation:

i.  Proof that the licensee is in good standing with the Arkansas

Secretary of State:; and

ii. _Proof that the licensee is in good standing with the Arkansas

Department of Finance and Administration.

c. Before renewing a license, the Commission may require further
information and documentation and may conduct additional backeround
checks to determine that the licensee continues to meet the requirements
set out in these rules or the rules of the Arkansas  Department  of
Health or Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

d. The renewal application shall be signed and sworn before a notary as
being true and correct.

e. A processor whose license is not renewed shall cease all operations
immediately upon expiration of the license, return the license to the
Commission, and any marijuana or marijuana products remaining in the
processor’s possession shall be destroyed or transferred pursuant to
Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control requirements.

4. Denial of Application for or Renewal of a License
a. The Commission may deny an application for or renewal of a license
for any of the following reasons:

1. Failure to provide the information or meet the requirements
described in the Amendment, these rules, or the rules of the
Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division;

ii. An owner, board member, or office has been an owner of a
dispensary, cultivation facility, transporter, distributor, or
processor that has had a license revoked:

iii. Provision of misleading, incorrect, false, or fraudulent
information;

iv. Failure to pay all applicable fees as required:

v. The applicant has an owner, board member, or officer with a
background history that indicates the person does not have a
reputable and responsible character or would pose a risk to the
health, safety, or welfare of the public or qualifying patients:
or

vi. Any other ground that serves the purpose of these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
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Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

b. If the Commission denies an application for or renewal of a license. the
Commission shall notify the applicant in writing of the Commission's
decision, including the reason for the denial.

c. A person aggrieved by a decision made pursuant to this section may
appeal in accordance with the procedures described in this rule.

5. Change in Information

a. The processor shall notify the Commission of any changes in contact
information, including a change of address.

b. The processor licensee shall notify the Commission in writing no less
than fourteen (14) days in advance of any change in the information
provided in its original application for licensure, along with supporting
documentation to prove the processor continues to be qualified. In the
event of a change for which a processor licensee does not have prior
notice, the licensee shall notify the Commission immediately upon
learning of the change.

c. The licensee shall notify the Commission of the following:

1. _The arrest or conviction for any felony of any owner, board
member, or officer;

ii. _Any of the licensee’s owners, board members. or officers owes
delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the federal
government.

iii. _The temporary closure of the business for any reason for longer
than fifteen (15) days:

iv. The permanent closure of the business;

v. The filing of bankruptcy by the entity or by any of the entity’s
owners; or

vi. Any other change that may affect the licensee's qualification
for licensure.

d. If the Commission determines that the change has the potential to
disqualify a licensee, the Commission shall refer the matter to the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division for adjudication.

6. Surrender of License

a. A processor may voluntarily surrender a license to the Commission at
any time.

b. If a processor licensee voluntarily surrenders a license, the processor
shall:

i. Return the license to the Commission;

ii. Submit a report to the Commission including the reason for
surrendering the license; contact information following the
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close of business; the person or persons responsible for the close
of the business; and where business records will be retained:;
and

iii. Tender all marijuana to another facility in accordance with
Division requirements. No portion of the licensing fee shall be
returned to the processor licensee if the license is voluntarily
surrendered prior to the expiration of the license.

7. FEES
Processor License Fee - $5.000 .
Processor Renewal Fee - $5.000 .

8. APPEALS

1. If the Commission denies an application for the issuance or renewal of a
processor license, the licensee may request a hearing before the Commission
by filing a written request no later than fifteen (15) days from receipt of the
notice of denial from the Commission.

2. The Commission shall provide notice of the hearing to all interested parties.
conduct the hearing, and issue a decision in accordance with the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act, §§ 25-15-201 et seq.

3. The Commission's decision may be appealed to the circuit court of the county
in which the processor is situated or the Pulaski County Circuit Court. Appeals
shall be governed by the terms of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act,
§§ 25-15-201 et seq.
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RULES GOVERNING THE APPLICATION FOR, ISSUANCE, AND
RENEWAL OF LICENSES FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA
CULTIVATION FACILITIES, DISPENSARIES, AND PROCESSORS IN
ARKANSAS

SECTION I.
AUTHORITY OF THE COMMISSION

These Rules Governing the Application For, Issuance, and Renewal of Licenses for
Medical Marijuana Cultivation Facilities, Dispensaries, and Processors in Arkansas
are duly adopted and promulgated by the Medical Marijuana Commission pursuant
to Amendment No. 98 of the Constitution of the State of Arkansas of 1874, The
Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016.

SECTION II.
SCOPE, PURPOSE, AND
SEVERABILITY

These rules govern the application procedures for the issuance and renewal of
licenses for medical marijuana cultivation facilities. dispensaries, and processors in
Arkansas. These rules also govern the selection methods to be used and the
criteria to be considered by the Medical Marijuana Commission in awarding licenses
for medical marijuana cultivation facilities and dispensaries.

[f any provision of these rules or the application thereof to any person or
circumstance is held invalid for any reason the invalidity shall not affect the other
provisions or any other application of these rules that can be given effect without the
invalid provisions or application. Therefore, all provisions of these rules are declared
to be severable.

SECTION III.
DEFINITIONS

(1)  “Amendment” means the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act of 2016.

(2)  “Applicant” means the natural person in whose name a license would be
issued and any entity: (a) the natural person represents; or (b) on whose

behalf the application is being submitted.
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(3)
(4)

(6)

(7)

(8)

“Commission” means the Medical Marijuana Commission.

“Cultivation facility” means an entity that:

a. Has been licensed by the Medical Marijuana Commission;

b. Cultivates, prepares, manufactures, processes, packages, sells to and
delivers usable marijuana to a dispensary.

“Department” means the Arkansas Department of Health.

“Dispensary” means an entity that has been licensed by the Medical

Marijuana Commission pursuant to the requirements of the Amendment.

“Excluded felony offense” means:

(a)(i)(A)A felony offense as determined by the jurisdiction where the
felony offense occurred;

(B) The Medical Marijuana Commission, the Department of
Health, or the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division shall determine
whether an offense is a felony offense based upon a review of the
relevant court records concerning the conviction for the offense.
(i1)An offense that has been sealed by a court or for which a pardon
has been granted is not considered an excluded felony offense; or

(b) A violation of a state or federal controlled-substance law that was
classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted,
but not including:

(1) An offense for which the sentence, including any term of
probation, incarceration, or supervised release, was completed ten (10)
or more years earlier; or

(ii) An offense that has been sealed by a court or for which a pardon
has been granted;

(1)

“Licensed facility” means a licensed cultivation facility, licensed

dispensary, licensed transporter/distributor, or licensed processor.

%)

“Manufacture and Process”
a. Means the manufacturing, processing, compounding or conversion

of marijuana into cannabinoid products, cannabinoid concentrates, or
2



(10)

(11)

(13)

cannabinoid extracts; and

b. Does not mean the drying of marijuana.

“Primary Entrance” means the entrance through which most people enter

or exit a building.

“Processor” means an entity licensed by the Commission pursuant to these

Rules and that may:

a. Acquire, possess, manufacture and process, prepare, deliver,
transport, and supply marijuana to a dispensary or cultivation facility;
and

b. Receive compensation for providing services allowed by this section.

“Qualifying medical condition” means one or more of the following:

a. Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency
virus/acquired immune deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C, amyotrophic
lateral sclerosis, Tourette’s syndrome, Crohn’s disease, ulcerative
colitis, post-traumatic stress disorder, severe arthritis, fibromyalgia,

Alzheimer’s disease, or the treatment of these conditions;

b. A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment
that produces one (1) or more of the following: cachexia or wasting
syndrome; peripheral neuropathy; intractable pain, which is pain that
has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical
measures for more than six (6) months; severe nausea; seizures,
including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy; or severe
and persistent muscle spasms, including, without limitation those
characteristic of multiple sclerosis; and

c. Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the
Department pursuant to these Rules and the Amendment.

“School” means a facility or building operated by a public school district;
3



open-enrollment public charter school, as defined in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-
23-103; or a private entity including parochial schools providing
preschool, elementary, or secondary education but does not include
postsecondary institutions of higher education, community colleges, or the
residences of students being home schooled under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-
501 et. seq.

(14) *“Sealed” means expunge, remove, sequester, and treat as confidential the
record or records of a felony offense;

(15) “Transporter” means an entity licensed as a transporter by the
Commission.

(16) “Usable marijuana” means the stalks, seeds, roots, dried leaves, flowers,
oils, vapors, waxes, and other portions of the marijuana plant and any
mixture or preparation thereof. Usable marijuana does not include the
weight of any ingredients other than marijuana that are combined with

marijuana and prepared for consumption as food and drink.

SECTION IV.
CULTIVATION FACILITY
APPLICATION, LICENSING, & RENEWAL

1. License Required
a. No person or entity shall operate a medical marijuana cultivation
facility unless the person has a license issued by the commission
pursuant to these rules.
b. Each license for a cultivation facility shall specify:
i. The name of the individual who holds the license;
ii. The address of the individual who holds the license;
iii. The effective dates of the license; and
iv. The address of the licensed facility.
2. Licenses Available
a. The commission shall issue at least four (4), but no more than eight (8),
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cultivation facility licenses.

b. It shall be within the commission’s discretion to make licenses
available.

c. When it has been determined that new licenses are available or
appropriate, the commission shall notify the public at large by legal
notice that it will be accepting applications for a cultivation facility
license.

d. No individual shall have interest in more than one (1) Arkansas
cultivation facility and one (1) Arkansas dispensary.

3. Application Process

a. An application for a cultivation facility license shall be submitted to the
commission on a form and in a manner prescribed by the commission.

b. Applications will be accepted for the cultivation facility license
beginning ten (10) days after the date of publication of the legal notice
by the commission, and no applications will be accepted after ninety
(90) days of the publication date.

c. Applications that have been received and verified by the commission
will be considered based upon the selection processes set out in Section
Iv.9.

d. Information and statements provided in an application shall become
conditions of a license if the application is selected, and failure to
satisfy the conditions will be cause for revocation or denial of renewal.

4. Minimum Qualifications for Applicant

a. An individual applicant for a license under this chapter shall be a
natural person that:
i. Is twenty-one (21) years of age or older;
ii. Isa current resident of the state of Arkansas and has been a resident
for seven (7) consecutive years prior to the date of application;
iii. Has not previously held a license for a licensed facility that
has been revoked;
iv. Has no ownership in any other cultivation facility in the state of
Arkansas;
v. Has not been convicted of a felony offense;
vi. If possessing a professional license, that the license is in good
standing; and
vii. Has no outstanding tax delinquencies owed to the State of
Arkansas or the federal government.
b. If the applicant is applying on behalf of an entity, in addition to (a) of
this Section, the individual applicant:
i. Shall be legally authorized to submit an application on behalf of the
5



entity;

ii. Shall serve as the primary point of contact with the Commission;
111, Shall submit sufficient proof that:

I

2

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer under
the age of twenty-one (21);

. Sixty percent (60%) of the equity ownership interests in

the entity are held by individuals who have been residents
of the state for at least seven (7) consecutive years prior to
the application date;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

previously been an owner of a licensed facility that has
had its license revoked;

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has
ownership in any other cultivation facility in the state of
Arkansas;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

been convicted of a felony offense.

If an owner, board member, or officer has or had a
professional license, that the license is in good standing;
and

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that
owes delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the
federal government.

c. Applicants shall provide proof of assets or a surety bond in the amount

of $1,000,000.00, and proof of at least $500,000.00 in liquid assets.
i. If an applicant posts a surety bond, the bond shall be maintained

until:

l.
2.

3.

An applicant withdraws an application;

An applicant’s application is denied by the commission;
or

An applicant, following selection by the commission for a
cultivation facility license, pays the licensing fee and posts
the performance bond required in Section 1V.10.a. and
Section IV.10.c.

d. Applicants shall provide a complete application with responses for each
required item.
S. Documentation and Information for Applicant
a. An individual applicant shall provide the following required

information:

1. Legal name;



ii. Date of birth;
1. Legal residence;
iv. Social security number or Tax Identification Number;
v. Mailing address or principal residence address if different from the
mailing address;
vi. Phone number;
vii. Email address; and
viil. Statement of individual’s authority to act on behalf of an entity, if
applicable.
b. The following supporting documents shall be submitted at the time of

application:

i. To establish legal name an applicant must present at least one (1)
of the following source documents:

L.

8.

9.

Certified copy of a birth certificate or marriage certificate
filed with a state office of vital statistics or equivalent
agency in the individual’s state of birth or marriage;
Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or U.S. passport card;

. Consular report of birth abroad Form FS-240, DS-1350 or

FS-545 issued by the U.S. Commission of State;

Valid, unexpired permanent resident card (Form I1-551)
issued by the Commission of Homeland Security (DHS)
or the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
(USCIS);

. Unexpired employment authorization document issued by

the Commission of Homeland Security, Form [-766 or
Form [-688B;

. Unexpired foreign passport with the following: a valid,

unexpired U.S. visa affixed, and an approved [-94 form
documenting the applicant’s most recent admittance into
the United States or a Commission of Homeland Security
admittance stamp on the passport;

Certificate of naturalization issued by Commission of
Homeland Security, Form N-550 or Form N-570;
Certificate of citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561,
issued by Commission of Homeland Security;
Court-issued, certified copy of a divorce decree; or

10.Certified copy of a legal change of name order.
ii. To establish date of birth an applicant must present at least one (1)
of the following source documents:
I. At least one document included in clauses (1) through (10)
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of subparagraph (i) of this paragraph; and

2. A photocopy of the individual’s valid, unexpired driver’s
license or government issued photo identification card.

iii. To establish residency in the State of not less than seven (7) years
preceding the application, an applicant must present at least two (2)
of the following source documents:

1. Arkansas tax return Form AR1000 for each of the seven
years preceding the application without schedules,
worksheets, or attachments, and redacted to remove all
financial information and all but the last four digits of the
individual’s social security number;

2. Evidence of voter registration for the seven years
preceding the application;

3. Ownership, lease, or rental documents for place of primary
domicile for the seven (7) years preceding the application;

4. Billing statements including utility bills for the seven (7)
years preceding the application; or

5. Vehicle registration for the seven (7) years preceding the
application.

iv. To establish proof of no felony convictions or other disqualifying
background information, an individual applicant shall provide
consent to a background check, including fingerprinting; and

v. Individuals applying on behalf of an entity must also provide the

following proof:

1. Documentation of the ownership of the entity; and

2. Documentation demonstrating that sixty percent (60%) of
the equity ownership interests in the entity are held by
individuals who have been residents of the state of
Arkansas for seven (7) years prior to the application.
Documentation sufficient to satisty this requirement shall
be the same as required of an individual in subsection
(b)(iii);

3. Documentation proving that each of the entity’s owners,
board members, and officers are over the age of twenty-
one (21). Documentation sufficient to satisfy this
requirement shall be the same as required of an individual
in subsections (b)(i) and (b)(ii); and

4. Consents for criminal background checks for each owner,
board members, and officers of the entity.

c. Applicants shall provide proof that the proposed location of the
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cultivation facility is at least three thousand (3,000) feet from a public

or private school, church, or daycare existing before the date of the

cultivation facility application pursuant to the Arkansas Medical

Marijuana Amendment of 2016. The distance specified in this section

shall be measured from the primary entrance to the cultivation facility

to the nearest property line point of the school, church, or daycare
facility;

d. Applicants shall provide proof of authorization to occupy the property
for the proposed cultivation facility. To establish proof the applicant
shall provide one of the following:

i. If the property is owned by the applicant, the applicant shall
provide: confirmation of land ownership, identification of any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders; and, if applicable,
verification of notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien
holders that the property is to be used as a medical marijuana
cultivation facility, and consent thereto by any mortgagees and
perfected lien holders;

ii. If the property is not owned, but is currently leased by the
applicant, the applicant shall provide a copy of the lease;
confirmation of land ownership, identification of any mortgagees
and perfected lienholders; a written statement from the property
owner or landlord, certifying consent that the applicant, if
awarded a license, may operate a medical marijuana cultivation

facility on the property, and, if applicable, verification of
notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien holders that the
property is to be used as a medical marijuana cultivation facility,
and consent thereto by any mortgagees and perfected lien holders;

iii. If the property is not owned or leased by the applicant, the
applicant shall provide: a written statement from the property
owner or landlord certifying consent that the applicant has the
option to lease or purchase the property, contingent upon the
issuance of a cultivation facility license; and if applicable,
verification of notification by the property owner to any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders that the property is to be
used for a medical marijuana cultivation facility, and consent
thereto by any mortgagees and perfected lienholders.

e. Ifthe city, town, or county in which the cultivation facility would be
located has enacted zoning restrictions, applicants shall submit a
sworn statement certifying that the cultivation facility will operate in
compliance with the restrictions.

9



f. The information and documents shall be submitted in a method

prescribed by the commission in the notice of open application.
6. Background Checks

a. The following are subject to background checks conducted by the
commission or its designee in considering an application for a
cultivation facility license:

I. The individual applicant;

ii. All owners, officers, and board members of an entity seeking to
apply for a cultivation license through its designated individual
applicant; and

iii. Agents of any of the above persons.

b. A person subject to background checks as provided in subsection (a)
shall be disqualified as an individual applicant, be prohibited from
entering a cultivation facility, be prohibited from being an owner,
officer or board member of a cultivation facility, and be prohibited from
having any responsibility for operating a cultivation facility if the
person has been convicted of a felony offense.

c. Each person undergoing a background check shall provide written
consent and all applicable processing fees to the commission or its
designee to conduct the background check.

7. Application Fee

a. Each application for a cultivation license shall include an application

fee of $15,000.00 by cash or certified funds. Certified checks or

cashier’s checks shall be made payable to the state of Arkansas,
delivered or mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
address specified in the notice of open application.

b. In the event an applicant is not successful in his or her application,
$7,500.00 of the initial application fee of shall be refunded to the
applicant.

c. An application is not complete and will not be considered unless all
required information, documentation, and the application fee are timely
received by the commission.

8. Verification of Application

a. No later than ten (10) business days following the receipt of an
application, the commission shall verify that the application and
supporting documentation is complete, and the information submitted
in the application is true and valid, and meets the requirements of
Section 1V.4. and Section IV.5.

b. Applications that meet the requirements of Section 1V.4. and Section
IV.5. shall be placed into the pool of applicants for further review and
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selection based on merit, and the commission shall notify the applicant
in writing that the application was successfully verified.

c. Applications that do not meet the requirements of Section IV.4. and
Section IV.5. shall be denied pursuant to Section IV.12.and the
commission shall notify the applicant in writing.

9. Selection Process and Criteria Based on Merit Selection.

a. In addition to documentation establishing minimum qualifications, the
applicant shall submit responses to the commission’s merit criteria in a
form and manner prescribed by the commission. Criterion shall be
published with the initial notice of open application.

b. The commission shall consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section 1V.8.:

1. Ability to operate a business, including but not limited to education,
knowledge, and experience with:

= W =

2 =,

9.

Regulated industries;

Agriculture or horticulture;

Commercial manufacturing;

Creating and implementing a business plan, including a
timeline for opening a business;

Creating and implementing a financial plan;

Secure inventory tracking and control;

The cultivation and production of marijuana;

Owning or managing a business that required twenty-four
hour security monitoring;

Owning and managing a business that has not had its
business license revoked; and

10.Any other experience the applicant considers relevant.
ii. Plan for operating a medical marijuana cultivation facility in
compliance with applicable laws and rules and demonstrating
planning sufficient to prove the applicant’s:

1.

Ability to manufacture approved medical marijuana
products, each with a consistent cannabinoid profile and
each able to pass the required quality control testing as
further described in the rules of the Arkansas Department
of Health;

Ability to produce sufficient quantities of approved
medical marijuana products as necessary to meet the needs
of individuals with qualifying medical conditions;

. Ability to comply with the security requirements as

described in the rules of the Arkansas Alcoholic
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8.

0.

Beverage Control Division;

Ability to comply with rules of the Arkansas Department
of Health and the Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division regarding the inventory and tracking of
marijuana products;

. Ability to comply with the recordkeeping requirements of

the Arkansas Department of Health and the Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

Ability to maintain effective control against diversion of
marijuana and marijuana products;

Ability to comply with requirements for signage,
packaging, labeling, and chain of custody of products;
Ability to comply with requirements for the transportation
and marketing of products.

Ability to comply with all other laws and regarding
the operation of a medical marijuana cultivation facility.

iii. Proof that the applicant is ready, willing, and able to properly carry
out the activities of a medical marijuana cultivation facility,
including a plan for operating a medical marijuana cultivation
facility and a timeline for opening the cultivation facility and
beginning production;

iv. Proof of financial stability and access to financial resources,
including but not limited to:

l.

2.

o

Legal sources of finances immediately available to begin
operating a cultivation facility;

Possession of, or the right to use, sufficient real property,
and equipment to properly carry on the activity described
in the operating plan;

. A summary of financial statements in businesses

previously or currently owned or operated by the
applicant;

A financial plan for operating a medical marijuana
cultivation facility in Arkansas;

Good credit history;

No history of bankruptcy filings by the applicant or
entities owned or operated by the applicant for eight (8)
years prior to the date of application.

c. The commission may consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section I'V.8.:
1. Affiliation with a Medical Doctor, Doctor of Osteopathy, or Doctor
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of Pharmacy.

ii. Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed cultivation facility will
positively impact the economy and diversity of the area in which
the facility is to be located.

I. Economic impact shall be assessed using the Arkansas
Economic Development Commission’s tier-ranking of
counties based on the following factors: poverty rate,
population growth, per capita personal income, and
unemployment rate. Consideration shall be given based
on the AEDC’s tier ranking of the county of the proposed
cultivation facility as it exists on the date of the
application.

2. Factors that may be considered in determining an
applicant’s impact on the diversity of the area include, but
are not limited to, ownership by minority groups,
ownership by veterans, and ownership by women.

iii. Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed cultivation facility will
provide a benefit to the community in which the facility is to be
located. Factors that may be considered include, but are not limited
to:

1. Any proposed substance abuse plan to be implemented by
the cultivation facility.

2. Any proposed compassionate care plan to be implemented
by the cultivation facility.

3. Any proposed plan for research, education, and promotion
of patient and public safety to be implemented by the
cultivation facility.

4. Local ownership percentage, meaning the percentage of
ownership held by Arkansas residents.

d. Each merit criterion will be worth a number of points announced by the
commission in the notice of open application period.

e. A review panel comprised of members of the Medical Marijuana
Commission shall evaluate the applications and award points for each
merit criterion. The points shall be totaled for each application and the
applications ranked from the highest total score to the lowest total
score. The commission shall notify in writing each of the applicants of
their respective score and their respective ranking among all applicants.

f. The highest ranking applicants, equal to the amount of available
licenses, shall have the first opportunity to submit the required license
fee and post the performance bond required under these rules for the
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available licenses. If any applicant fails to pay the fee and post the bond
within the required period of time, then their application shall be denied
for the appropriate reason under Section IV.12. of these rules. The
commission shall then inform the next highest scoring applicant, and
they shall have the opportunity to submit the required license fee and
post the performance bond required under these rules for the available
license.

g. The commission shall hold unselected applications in reserve to offer a
license to the next highest scoring applicant if the highest scoring
applicant fails to pay the licensing fee and post the performance bond
in accordance with Section I1V.10. When all available licenses within
each application period have been issued, the commission shall remove
all unselected applications from its list of reserved applications and
notify all applicants; however, the commission shall have the option to
maintain the list of reserved applications for 24 months from the
issuance date of the initial licenses in any application period.

h. The commission may initiate the selection process for cultivation
facilities upon determining that there are not enough cultivation
facilities to supply the dispensaries within the state, or upon revocation
of any existing license by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

1. If the commission determines that more licenses should be issued
within 24 months following the issuance of licenses in the most
recent application period, and it has exercised its option to maintain
the reserve list from the last application period, the commission
shall offer the next highest scoring applicant from the applications
held in reserve the opportunity to pay the licensing fee and post the
performance bond in accordance with Section IV.10.

1i. If the commission determines more licenses should be issued, and
the commission did not exercise the option to maintain a reserve
list or the decision is made after the 24 months following the
issuance of licenses in the most recent application period, the
commission shall solicit new applications in accordance with these
rules.

i. If the commission must break a tie in scoring among applicants, the
following procedure shall be followed:

1. Applicants with identical scores shall draw a number between one
(1) and a number equal to the number of applicants with the
identical score. Applicants will then repeat the drawing of numbers
in the order determined by the first drawing. The tied applicants
will be ranked according to the number pulled from the second
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drawing. The applicant who draws the number (1) will have the
highest rank among the tied applicants.

10.Licensing Fee and Issuance of License

a.

1. Term
a.

Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant shall submit to the commission a
cultivation facility license fee of $100,000.00 in cash or certified funds.
Any certified or cashier’s check shall be made payable to the State of
Arkansas.

If the licensing fee is not timely paid, the selected applicant will be
disqualified, and the commission shall select the next highest scoring
applicant within the group of applications in accordance with Section
IV.9.

Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant shall submit to the commission a
performance bond in the amount of $500,000.00. The bond shall be
maintained until the cultivation facility files its first required sales tax
report with the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration for
the sale of usable marijuana.

. If the performance bond is not timely posted, the selected applicant will

be disqualified, and the commission shall notify the next available
applicant as determined by the merit selection process in Section I1V.9.
After the license fees and performance bond are timely tendered in an
acceptable form, the applicant shall be awarded a license and a
registration number.

Upon issuance of a cultivation facility license, and following inspection
required by Alcoholic Beverage Control Division Rules, the cultivation
facility licensee may begin operations.

The cultivation facility licensee shall visibly post a copy of its license
at the cultivation facility covered under the license.

A license that is initially issued between Jan. 1 and July 1 may have the
licensing fee prorated up to 50 percent of the total fee as determined by
the commission.

A license shall expire on June 30 of each calendar year and is renewable
on or before June 30 of each calendar year for the fiscal year beginning
July 1, unless the license is:

i. Suspended or revoked by the division; or

ii. Surrendered by the cultivation facility licensee.
iii. Replaced with the issuance of a temporary license

12.Denial of Application for or Renewal of a License
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a. The commission may deny an application for or renewal of a license
for any of the following reasons:

1.

ii.

1.

Vi.

Vil.

viil.

Failure to provide the information required in these rules;

Failure to meet the requirements set forth in these rules or the rules
of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division;

Provision of misleading, incorrect, false, or fraudulent information;
Failure to pay all applicable fees as required;

Failure to post a performance bond naming the state as the secured
party, as required by Section I1V.10.c.;

Receipt of an application evaluation score lower than the successful
applicants for a cultivation facility in the pool period for which the
applicant applied;

An applicant, owner, board member, or officer has a background
history that indicates the applicant does not have a reputable and
responsible character or would pose a risk to the health, safety, or
welfare of the public or qualifying patients; or

Any other ground that serves the purpose of these rules or the rules
of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division.

b. If the commission denies an application for or renewal of a license, the
commission shall notify the applicant in writing of the commission’s
decision, including the reason for the denial.

13.License Renewal Process and Fee
a. A license may be renewed if the cultivation facility licensee:

1.

il.
1.

iv.

Submits to the commission a renewal application on a form and in
a manner prescribed by the commission at least sixty (60) days prior
to the expiration date on the license;

Is in good standing with the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office
Continues to be in good standing with the Arkansas Department of
Finance and Administration; and

Continues to meet all the requirements set out in these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division.

b. Before renewing a license, the commission may require further
information and documentation and may conduct additional
background checks to determine that the licensee continues to meet
the requirements of these rules, the rules of the Arkansas Department
of Health, or Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

c. Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice from the commission
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that its renewal application has been approved, the cultivation facility
licensee shall pay the annual renewal fee of $100,000.00 in certified
funds. Any certified or cashier’s check shall be payable to the state of
Arkansas.

A cultivation facility licensee whose license is not renewed shall cease
all operations immediately upon expiration of the license and return the
license to the commission.

Any marijuana or marijuana products remaining at the facility shall be
destroyed or transferred pursuant to Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage
Control Rules.

Upon the determination that a cultivation facility licensee has not met
the requirements for renewal, the commission shall provide written
notice by certified mail or personal delivery to the licensee. The notice
shall provide an explanation for the denial of the renewal application.

The licensee may request a hearing before the Commission pursuant to
Section IV.19.b.of these Rules.

14.Surrender of License

a.

b.

A cultivation facility may voluntarily surrender a license to the

commission at any time.

[f a cultivation facility voluntarily surrenders a license, the cultivation

facility shall:

i. Return the license to the commission;

ii. Submit a report to the commission including the reason for
surrendering the license; contact information following the close of
business; the person or persons responsible for the close of the
business; and where business records will be retained; and

iii. Any marijuana or marijuana products remaining at the facility
shall be destroyed or transferred pursuant to Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Rules.

iv. No portion of the licensing fee shall be returned to the cultivation
facility licensee if the license is voluntarily surrendered prior to the
expiration of the license.

15.Change in Information

a.

b.

The cultivation facility licensee shall notify the commission of any
changes in contact information.

The cultivation facility licensee shall notify the commission in writing
no less than fourteen (14) days in advance of any change that may affect
the licensee’s qualifications for licensure, and submit to the
commission supporting documentation to prove the cultivation facility
licensee continues to be qualified. In the event of a change for which a
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cultivation facility licensee does not have prior notice, the licensee shall

notify the commission immediately upon learning of the change.

Pursuant to section (b), the licensee shall notify the commission of the

following:

i. The arrest or conviction for any felony of any individual listed in
an application or subsequently identified as an applicant, licensee
or individual with a financial interest;

il. Any alterations to the floor plan of the facility, including, but not
limited to, any increase or decrease in the total footprint or
production capacity of the facility.

iil. The filing of bankruptcy by the entity holding the license or by any
of the entity’s owners;

iv. The temporary closure of the business for any reason for longer
than fifteen (15 ) days;

v. The permanent closure of the business; and

vi. Any other change that may affect the licensee’s qualification for
licensure.

. If the commission determines that the change has the potential to

disqualify a licensee, the commission shall refer the matter to the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division for adjudication.

16.Transfer of License

a.

b.

Licenses shall only be effective for the individuals identified in the
original application.

A licensee may not sell, transfer, or otherwise dispose of his or her
license to another individual without approval from the commission.

A licensee may only sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of his or her
license to another natural person.

. An individual who holds a license through its individual agent shall not

make any modification to the individual’s ownership, board members,
or officers as designated in the initial application without approval from
the commission.

A licensee’s failure to obtain approval from the commission before
engaging in ownership changes described in (b) and (c) above shall
result in commission’s revocation of that license.

In order to obtain approval to transfer ownership of a license or of an
entity that holds a license by its individual agent, principals in
ownership, board members, or officers, the licensee shall submit to the
commission an application for license transferal on a form and in a
manner prescribed by the commission.

[f the commission denies an application for transfer of license, the
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commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal
delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
commission pursuant to Section I'V.19.b. of this Rule.

17. Transfer of Location

a.

b.

A cultivation facility license shall only be valid at the location for which
it was originally issued by the commission.
A licensee shall not re-locate a cultivation facility without prior
approval by the commission.
In order to obtain approval to transfer a cultivation facility license to
another location, a licensee shall submit the following to the
commission:

1. An application for license transferal on a form and in a manner

prescribed by the commission;

il. Proof that the proposed location of the cultivation facility is at least
three thousand (3,000) feet from a public or private school, church,
or daycare existing before the date of the cultivation facility transfer
application pursuant to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana
Amendment of 2016. The distance specified in this section shall
be measured from the primary entrance of the cultivation facility to
the nearest property line point of the school, church, or daycare
facility; and

iii. Copies of any changes to the criteria set forth in Section 1V.9.b.ii.
of these Rules if any changes were necessary due to the change of
location.

[f the commission denies an application for transfer of location, the

commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal

delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
commission pursuant to Section I'V.19.b. of these Rules.

18.Issuance of Temporary License

a.

d.

The commission may issue a temporary license to another natural
person in conjunction with a cultivation facility when the natural person
applicant whose name is on the license of the cultivation facility ceases
to be in actual control of the cultivation facility.

A temporary license will be valid for no more than 60 days from the
date of issuance.

The issuance of a temporary license by the commission will
immediately terminate the license which is to be replaced.

The natural person to whom a temporary license is issued must meet
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the requirements of Section 1V.4, 5 & 6 of these rules.

e. A temporary license can only be issued at the request of the natural
person to whom a license was issued, that person’s heirs, or the entity
on whose behalf the individual applicant held the license.

f. A temporary license cannot be transferred, sold or otherwise disposed
of without the approval of the commission.

g. A temporary license can be renewed in a manner consistent with a
license to operate a cultivation facility under Section 1V.13 of these
rules.

19.Appellate Procedure following Denial of License Renewal, Transfer of
License, or Location.

a. Ifthe commission denies an application for the renewal of a cultivation
facility license, the transfer of a license, or the transfer of the location
for a license, the licensee may request a hearing before the
Commission by filing a written request no later than fifteen (15)
days from receipt of the notice of denial from the commission.

b. The commission shall conduct a hearing no later than sixty (60) days
from the receipt of the request for hearing. The commission shall
provide notice of the hearing to all interested parties, conduct the
hearing, and issue a decision in accordance with the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.

c. The commission’s decision may be appealed to the circuit court of the
county in which the cultivation facility is situated or the Pulaski County
Circuit Court. Appeals shall be governed by the terms of the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.

20.Hiring of Consultants

a. The commission may retain the services of a contractor or consultant.

i. The selection of any contractor or consultant shall be conducted
pursuant to the procurement laws of the State of Arkansas.

ii. The recommendations and findings of any contractor or consultant
shall not be final and binding unless approved by a majority vote of
the commission.

SECTION V.
DISPENSARY
APPLICATION, LICENSING, & RENEWAL
I. License Required
a. No person shall operate a medical marijuana dispensary unless the
person has a license issued by the commission pursuant to this chapter.
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b.

Each license for a dispensary shall specify:

i.  The name of the individual who holds the license;
ii.  The address of the individual who holds the license;
iii.  The effective dates of the license;
iv.  The address of the licensed facility.

2. Licenses Available

a.

b.

The commission shall issue at least twenty (20), but no more than forty
(40), dispensary licenses.

Licenses shall be distributed within eight (8) geographic zones, to
assure that dispensaries are available throughout the state. A dispensary
license shall only be valid in the geographic zone where it was awarded.
It shall be within the commission’s discretion to make licenses
available.

When it has been determined that new licenses are available or
appropriate, the commission shall notify the public at large by legal
notice that it will be accepting applications for a dispensary license.
The commission will create application pools for dispensary licenses
based on the eight (8) identified geographic zones to ensure that
dispensaries are distributed equally through the state. A dispensary
license will only be valid for the designated zone and cannot be used in
another zone.

No individual shall have interest in more than one (1) Arkansas
cultivation facility and one (1) Arkansas dispensary.

In accordance with the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of
2016, there shall be no more than four (4) dispensaries in any one (1)
county.

3. Application

a.

An application for a dispensary license shall include both an individual
applicant and an applying entity and they shall apply to the commission
on a form and in a manner prescribed by the commission.

Applications will be accepted for the dispensary license beginning ten
(10) days after the date of publication of the legal notice by the

commission, and no applications will be accepted after ninety (90)
days of the publication date.

Information and statements provided in an application shall become
conditions of a license if the application is selected, and failure to
satisfy the conditions will be cause for revocation or denial of renewal.

4. Minimum Qualifications for Applicant

a.

An applicant for a license under this chapter shall be a natural person
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that:

1. Is twenty-one (21) years of age or older;

1. Is a current resident of the state of Arkansas and has been a
resident for seven (7) consecutive years prior to the date of
application;

iii. Has not previously held a license for a licensed facility that
has been revoked:

iv. Has no ownership in any other dispensary in the state of
Arkansas;

v. Has not been convicted of a felony offense;

vi. If possessing a professional license, that the license is in good
standing; and

vii. Has no outstanding tax delinquencies owed to the State of
Arkansas or the federal government.
b. If the applicant is applying on behalf of an entity, in addition to (a) of
this Section, the individual applicant:

i. Shall be legally authorized to submit an application on behalf of
the entity;

ii. Shall serve as the primary point of contact with the commission;

iii.  Shall submit sufficient proof that:

1.

P

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer under
the age of twenty-one (21);

Sixty percent (60%) of the equity ownership interests in
the entity are held by individuals who have been residents
of the state for at least seven (7) consecutive years prior to
the application date;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

previously been an owner of a licensed facility that has
had its license revoked;

. The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has

ownership in any other dispensary in the state of Arkansas;
The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that has
been convicted of a felony offense; and

[f an owner, board member, or officer has or had a
professional license, that the license is in good standing;
and

The entity has no owner, board member, or officer that
owes delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the
federal government.
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c. Applicants shall provide proof of assets or a surety bond in the amount
of $200,000.00 and proof of at least $100,000.00 in liquid assets.
1. If an applicant posts a surety bond, the bond shall be maintained
until:

1. An applicant withdraws an application;

2. An applicant’s application is denied by the commission;
or

3. An applicant, following selection by the commission for a
dispensary license, pays the licensing fee and performance
bond required in Section V.10.a. and Section V.10.c.

d. Applicants shall provide a complete application with responses for each
required item.
5. Documentation and Information for Applicant
a. An individual applicant shall provide the following required
information:
i. Legal name;
ii. Date of birth;
iii. Legal residence;
iv. Social security number;
v. Mailing address or principal residence address if different from
the mailing address;
vi. Phone number;
vii. Email address; and
viil. Statement of individual’s authority to act on behalf of an entity,
if applicable.
b. The following supporting documents shall be submitted at the time of
application:
i. To establish legal name an applicant must present at least one (1)
of the following source documents:

1. Certified copy of a birth certificate or marriage certificate
filed with a state office of vital statistics or equivalent
agency in the individual’s state of birth or marriage;

2. Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or U.S. passport card;

3. Consular report of birth abroad Form FS-240, DS-1350 or
FS-545 issued by the U.S. Commission of State;

4. Valid, unexpired permanent resident card (Form I1-551)
issued by the Commission of Homeland Security (DHS)
or the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
(USCIS);
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8.

9.

. Unexpired employment authorization document issued by

the Commission of Homeland Security, Form 1-766 or
Form [-688B;

Unexpired foreign passport with the following: a valid,
unexpired U.S. visa affixed, and an approved 1-94 form
documenting the applicant’s most recent admittance into
the United States or a Commission of Homeland Security
admittance stamp on the passport;

. Certificate of naturalization issued by Commission of

Homeland Security, Form N-550 or Form N-570;
Certificate of citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561,
issued by Commission of Homeland Security;
Court-issued, certified copy of a divorce decree; or

10.Certified copy of a legal change of name order;
ii. To establish date of birth an applicant must present at least one
(1) of the following source documents:

1.

2.

At least one document included in clauses (1) through (10)
of subparagraph (i) of this paragraph; and

A photocopy of the individual’s valid, unexpired driver’s
license or government issued photo identification card.

ili. To establish residency in the State of not less than seven (7) years
preceding the application, an applicant must present at least one
(1) of the following source documents:

1.

2

Arkansas tax return Form AR1000 for each of the seven
years preceding the application without schedules,
worksheets, or attachments, and redacted to remove all
financial information and all but the last four digits of the
individual’s social security number;

. Evidence of voter registration for the seven vyears

preceding the application;

. Ownership, lease, or rental documents for place of primary

domicile for the seven (7) years preceding the application;
Billing statements including utility bills for the seven (7)
years preceding the application; or

. Vehicle registration for the seven (7) years preceding the

application.

iv. To establish proof of no felony convictions or other disqualifying
background information, an individual applicant shall provide
consent to a background check, including fingerprinting; and
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v. Individuals applying on behalf of an entity must also provide the
following proof:

I. Documentation of the ownership of the entity; and

2. Documentation demonstrating that sixty percent (60%) of
the equity ownership interests in the entity are held by
individuals who have been residents of the state of
Arkansas for seven (7) years prior to the application.
Documentation sufficient to satisfy this requirement shall
be the same as required of an individual in subsection
(b)(iii);

3. Board members, and officers are over the age of twenty-
one (21). Documentation sufficient to satisfy this
requirement shall be the same as required of an individual
in subsections (b) and (¢); and

4. Consents for criminal background checks for each owner,
board members, and officers of the entity.

c. Applicants shall provide proof that the proposed location of the
dispensary is at least one thousand five hundred (1,500) feet from a
public or private school, church, daycare, or facility for individuals
with developmental disabilities existing before the date of the
dispensary application pursuant to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana
Amendment of 2016. The distance specified in this section shall be
measured from the primary entrance of the dispensary to the nearest
property line point of the school, church, daycare facility, or facility
for individuals with developmental disabilities; and

d. Applicants shall provide proof of authorization to occupy the property
for the proposed dispensary. To establish proof the applicant shall
provide one of the following:

i. If the property is owned by the applicant, the applicant shall
provide: confirmation of land ownership, identification of any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders; and, if applicable,
verification of notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien
holders that the property is to be used as a medical marijuana
dispensary, and consent thereto by any mortgagees and
perfected lien holders;

ii. If the property is not owned, but is currently leased by the
applicant, the applicant shall provide a copy of the lease;
confirmation of land ownership, identification of any

mortgagees and perfected lienholders; a written statement from
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the property owner or landlord, certifying consent that the
applicant, if awarded a license, may operate a medical
marijuana dispensary on the property, and, if applicable,
verification of notification to any mortgagees and perfected lien
holders that the property is to be used as a medical marijuana
dispensary, and consent thereto by any mortgagees and
perfected lien holders;

iii. If the property is not owned or leased by the applicant, the
applicant shall provide: a written statement from the property
owner or landlord certifying consent that the applicant has the
option to lease or purchase the property, contingent upon the
issuance of a dispensary license; and if applicable, verification
of notification by the property owner to any mortgagees and
perfected lienholders that the property is to be used for a
medical marijuana dispensary, and consent thereto by any
mortgagees and perfected lienholders.

e. If the city, town, or county in which the dispensary would be located
has enacted zoning restrictions, applicants shall submit a sworn
statement certifying that the dispensary will operate in compliance
with the restrictions.

f. The information and documents shall be submitted in a method
prescribed by the commission in the notice of open application.

6. Background Checks

a. The following are subject to background checks conducted by the
commission or its designee in considering an application for a
dispensary license:

1. The individual applicant;

ii. All owners, officers, and board members of an entity seeking to
apply for a dispensary license through its designated individual
applicant; and

iii. Agents of any of the above persons.

b. Each person undergoing a background check shall provide written
consent and all applicable processing fees to the commission or its
designee to conduct the background check.

7. Application Fee

a. Each application for a dispensary license shall include an application
fee of $7,500.00 in cash or certified funds. Any certified check or
cashier’s check shall be made payable to state of Arkansas, and

delivered or mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
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address specified in the notice of open application.

b. In the event an applicant is not successful in his or her application,
$3,750.00 of the initial application fee shall be refunded to the
applicant.

¢. An application is not complete and will not be considered unless the
application fee is received with the application by the deadline.

8. Verification of Application

a. After receipt of an application, the commission shall verify that the
application and supporting documentation is complete, and the
information submitted in the application is true and valid.

b. Applications that meet the requirements of Section V.4. and V.5 shall
be placed into the pool of applicants for further review and selection
based on merit. The commission shall notify the applicant in writing
that the application was successfully verified.

c. Applications that do not meet the requirements of Section V.4. and
Section V.5 shall be denied pursuant to Section V.12, and the
commission shall notify the applicant in writing.

9. Selection Process and Criteria Based on Merit Selection
a. In addition to documentation establishing minimum qualifications, the
applicant shall submit responses to the commission’s merit criteria in a
form and manner prescribed by the commission. Criterion shall be
published with the initial notice of application.
b. The commission shall consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section V.8:
i. Ability to operate a business, including, but not limited to
education, knowledge, and experience with:
Regulated industries;
Agriculture or horticulture;
Commercial manufacturing;
Creating and implementing a business plan, including a
timeline for opening a business;
Creating and implementing a financial plan;
Secure inventory tracking and control;
The cultivation and production of marijuana;
Owning or managing a business that required twenty-four
hour security monitoring;
9. Owning and managing a business that has not had its
business license revoked; and
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10.Any other experience the applicant considers relevant.

ii. Plan for operating a dispensary in compliance with applicable
laws and rules and demonstrating planning sufficient to prove
the applicant’s:

L.

8]

7.

8.

Ability to manufacture approved medical marijuana
products, each with a consistent cannabinoid profile and
each able to pass the required quality control testing as
further described in the rules of the Arkansas Department
of Health;

Ability to produce sufficient quantities of approved
medical marijuana products as necessary to meet the needs
of individuals with qualifying medical conditions;

. Ability to comply with the security requirements as

described in the rules of the Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division.

Ability to comply with rules of the Arkansas Department
of Health and the Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division regarding the inventory and tracking of
marijuana products;

. Ability to comply with the recordkeeping requirements of

Arkansas Department of Health and the Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

Ability to maintain effective control against diversion of
marijuana and marijuana products;

Ability to comply with requirements for signage,
packaging, labeling, and chain of custody of products; and

Ability to comply with all other laws and rules
regarding the operation of a medical marijuana dispensary.

iii. Proof that the applicant is ready, willing, and able to properly
carry out the activities of a medical marijuana dispensary,
including a plan for operating a medical marijuana dispensary
and a timeline for opening the dispensary;

Proof of financial stability and access to financial resources,
including but not limited to:

iv.

l.

2,

Legal sources of finances immediately available to begin
operating a dispensary;

Possession of, or the right to use, sufficient real property,
and equipment to properly carry on the activity described
in the operating plan;
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3. A summary of financial statements in businesses
previously or currently owned or operated by the
applicant;

4. A financial plan for operating a medical marijuana
dispensary in Arkansas;

5. Good credit history;

6. No history of bankruptcy filings by the applicant or
entities owned or operated by the applicant for eight (8)
years prior to the date of application.

¢. The commission may consider the following criteria based on merit to
evaluate applications verified pursuant to Section V.8:
i. Affiliation with a Medical Doctor, Doctor of Osteopathy, or
Doctor of Pharmacy.

ii. Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed dispensary will
positively impact the economy and diversity of the area in which
the dispensary is to be located.

I. Economic impact shall be assessed using the Arkansas
Economic Development Commission’s tier-ranking of
counties based on the following factors: poverty rate,
population growth, per capita personal income, and
unemployment rate. Consideration shall be given based
on the AEDC'’s tier ranking of the county of the proposed
dispensary as it exists on the date of the application.

2. Factors that may be considered in determining an
applicant’s impact on the diversity of the area include, but
are not limited to, ownership by minority groups,
ownership by veterans, and ownership by women.

iii. Proof, if any, that the applicant’s proposed dispensary will
provide a benefit to the community in which the facility is to be
located. Factors that may be considered include, but are not
limited to:

I. Any proposed substance abuse plan to be implemented by
the dispensary.

2. Any proposed compassionate care plan to be implemented
by the dispensary.

3. Any proposed plan for research, education, and promotion
of patient and public safety to be implemented by the
dispensary.

4. Local ownership percentage, meaning the percentage of
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ownership held by Arkansas residents.

. Each merit criterion will be worth a number of points announced by the
commission in the notice of open application period.

. A review panel comprised of members of the Medical Marijuana
Commission shall evaluate the applications and award points for each
merit criterion. The points shall be totaled for each application and the
applications ranked from the highest total score to the lowest total score
within each geographic zone. The commission shall notify in writing
each of the applicants of their respective score and their respective
ranking among all applicants within the applicable geographic zone.
The highest ranking applicants in each zone, equal to the amount of
available licenses in each zone, shall have the first opportunity to
submit the required license fee and post the performance bond required
under these rules for the available licenses. If any applicant fails to pay
the fee and post the bond within the required period of time, then their
application shall be denied for the appropriate reason under Section
V.12. of these rules. The commission shall then inform the next highest
scoring applicant within the applicable zone, and they shall have the
opportunity to submit the required license fee and post the performance
bond required under these rules for the available license.

. The commission shall hold unselected applications in reserve to offer a
license to the next highest scoring applicant within a zone if the highest
scoring applicant within that zone fails to pay the licensing fee and post
the performance bond in accordance with Section V.10. Unselected
applications shall remain in reserve for 24 months from the issuance
date of the initial licenses in any application period.

. The commission may initiate the selection process for dispensary
licenses upon determining that there are not enough dispensaries to
supply qualified patients within the state, or upon revocation of any
existing license by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

i. If the commission determines that more licenses should be issued
within 24 months following the issuance of licenses in the most
recent application period, the commission shall offer the
opportunity to pay the licensing fee and post the performance
bond in accordance with Section V.10 to the next highest scoring
applicant from the applications held in reserve for the zone where
the commission has determined a need for the license.

ii. If the commission determines that more licenses should be issued
after the 24 months following the issuance of licenses in the most
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recent application period, the commission shall solicit new
applications in accordance with these rules.
[f the commission must break a tie in scoring among applicants, the
following procedure shall be followed:

i. Applicants with identical scores shall draw a number between
one (1) and a number equal to the number of applicants with the
identical score. Applicants will then repeat the drawing of
numbers in the order determined by the first drawing. The tied
applicants will be ranked according to the number pulled from
the second drawing. The applicant who draws the number (1)
will have the highest rank among the tied applicants.

10.Licensing Fee and Issuance of License

a.

£.

11. Term
a.

Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant for a dispensary license shall submit
to the commission a dispensary license fee of $15,000.00 in cash or
certified funds. Any certified or cashier’s check shall be made payable
to the State of Arkansas.

If the licensing fee is not timely paid, the selected applicant will be
disqualified, and the commission shall select the next highest scoring
applicant within that particular zone.

Within seven (7) days of receiving written notice of selection from the
commission, the selected applicant shall submit to the commission a
performance bond in the amount of $100,000.00. The bond shall be
maintained until the dispensary files its first application for renewal of
the license.

[f the performance bond is not timely posted, the selected applicant will
be disqualified, and the commission shall select the next highest scoring
applicant within that particular zone.

A license that is initially issued between Jan. 1 and July 1 may have the
licensing fee prorated up to 50 percent of the total fee as determined by
the commission.

Upon issuance of a dispensary license, and following inspection
required by Alcoholic Beverage Control Division Rules , the
dispensary licensee may begin operations.

The dispensary licensee shall visibly post a copy of its license at the
dispensary covered under the license.

A license shall expire on June 30 of each calendar year and is renewable
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on or before June 30 of each calendar year for the fiscal year beginning
July 1, unless the license is:

i. Suspended or revoked by the Department of Finance and
Administration — Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

ii. Surrendered by the dispensary licensee; or

iii. Replaced by a temporary license.

12.Denial of Application for or Renewal of a License

a. The commission may deny an application for or renewal of a license
for any of the following reasons:

i. Failure to provide the information required in these rules;

1. Failure to meet the requirements set forth in these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division;

iii. Provision of misleading, incorrect, false, or fraudulent
information;

iv. Failure to pay all applicable fees as required;

v. Failure to post performance bond, if required, naming the state
as a secured party;

vi. An applicant has a background history that indicates the
applicant does not have a reputable and responsible character or
would pose a risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the public or
qualifying patients; or

vil. Any other ground that serves the purpose of these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

b. If the commission denies an application for or renewal of a license, the
commission shall notify the applicant in writing of the commission’s
decision, including the reason for the denial.

[3.License Renewal Process and Fee

a. A license may be renewed if the dispensary licensee:

1. Submits to the commission a renewal application on a form and
in a manner prescribed by the commission at least sixty (60) days
prior to the expiration date on the license;

ii. Isin good standing with the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office;

iii. Continues to be in good standing with the Arkansas Department
of Finance and Administration; and

iv. Continues to meet all the requirements set out in these rules or
the rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

b. Before renewing a license, the commission may require further
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information and documentation and may conduct additional
background checks to determine that the licensee continues to meet the
requirements set out in these rules or the rules of the Arkansas
Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division.

. After receiving written notice from the commission that its renewal

application has been approved, the dispensary licensee shall pay the
annual renewal fee of $22,500.00 in certified funds. Any certified or
cashier’s check shall be payable to the State of Arkansas.

. A dispensary licensee whose license is not renewed shall cease all

operations immediately upon expiration of the license, return the
license to the commission; and

Any marijuana or marijuana products remaining at the facility shall be
destroyed or transferred pursuant to Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage
Control Rules.

14.Surrender of License

a.

A dispensary may voluntarily surrender a license to the commission at
any time.

b. Ifa dispensary voluntarily surrenders a license, the dispensary shall:

i. Return the license to the commission;

ii. Submit a report to the commission including the reason for
surrendering the license; contact information following the close
of business; the person or persons responsible for the close of the
business; and where business records will be retained; and

iii. Tender all marijuana and marijuana products for destruction or
for sale to another facility in accordance with the Arkansas
Department of Finance and Administration — Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division. No portion of the licensing fee shall
be returned to the dispensary licensee if the license is voluntarily
surrendered prior to the expiration of the license.

15.Change in Information

a.

b.

The dispensary licensee shall notify the commission of any changes in
contact information.

The dispensary licensee shall notify the commission in writing no less
than fourteen (14) days in advance of any change that may affect the
licensee’s qualifications for licensure, and submit to the commission
supporting documentation to prove the dispensary licensee continues to
be qualified. In the event of a change for which a dispensary licensee

does not have prior notice, the licensee shall notify the commission
immediately upon learning of the change.
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C.

d.

Pursuant to section (b), the licensee shall notify the commission of the
following:

i. The arrest or conviction for any felony of any individual listed in
an application or subsequently identified as an applicant, licensee
or individual with a financial interest;

ii. Any alterations to the floor plan of the facility, including, but not
limited to, any increase or decrease in the total footprint or
production capacity of the facility.

iii. The filing of bankruptcy by the entity holding the license or by
any of the entity’s owners;

iv. The temporary closure of the business for any reason for longer
than fifteen (15 ) days;

v. The permanent closure of the business;

vi. Any other change that may affect the licensee’s qualification for
licensure.

[f the Commission determines that the change has the potential to
disqualify a licensee, the Commission shall refer the matter to the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division for adjudication.

16.License Restrictions

a.

The dispensary license shall only be applicable for use in the
geographic zone for which it is issued. A dispensary being operated
outside of its designated area will result in the dispensary’s license
being revoked.

1 7. Transfer of License

a.

b.

Licenses shall only be effective for the individuals identified in the
original application.

A licensee may not sell, transfer, or otherwise dispose of his or her
license to another individual without approval from the commission.

A licensee may only sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of her license to
a natural person.

An entity that holds a license through its individual agent shall not make
any modification to the entity’s ownership, board members, or officers
as designated in the initial application without approval from the
commission.

A licensee’s failure to obtain approval from the commission before
engaging in ownership changes described in (b) and (c) above shall
result in the commission’s revocation of that license.

In order to obtain approval to transfer ownership of a license or of an
entity that holds a license by its individual agent, principals in
ownership, board members, or officers, the licensee shall submit to the
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commission an application for license transferal on a form and in a
manner prescribed by the commission.

If the commission denies an application for transfer of license, the
commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal
delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
Commission pursuant to Section V.20.b. of this Rule.

18.Transfer of Location

a.

b.

A Dispensary license shall only be valid at the location for which it was
originally issued by the commission.

A licensee shall not re-locate a dispensary without prior approval by the
commission.

In order to obtain approval to transfer a dispensary license to another
location, a licensee shall submit the following to the commission:

1. An application for license transferal on a form and in a manner
prescribed by the commission;

ii. Proof that the proposed location of the dispensary is at least one-
thousand five-hundred (1,500) feet from a public or private
school, church, or daycare existing before the date of the
dispensary application for transfer pursuant to the Arkansas
Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016. The distance specified
in this section shall be measured by the distance between the
primary entrance of the cultivation facility to the nearest property
line point of the school, church, or daycare facility; and

iii. Copies of any changes to the criteria set forth in Section V.9.b.ii.
of these Rules if any changes were necessary due to the change
of location..

If the Commission denies an application for transfer of location, the
commission shall provide written notice by certified mail or personal
delivery to the licensee. The notice shall provide an explanation for the
denial of the application. The licensee may request a hearing before the
commission pursuant to Section V.20.b. of these Rules.

19.1ssuance of Temporary License

a.

The commission may issue a temporary license to another natural
person in conjunction with a dispensary when the natural person whose
name is on the license of the dispensary ceases to be in actual control
of the dispensary.

In issuing a temporary license, the commission will determine the term
of the temporary license, but at no time will a temporary license remain
valid beyond the original term of the license it replaced.
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The issuance of a temporary license by the commission will
immediately terminate the license which is to be replaced.

The natural person to whom a temporary license is issued must meet
the requirements of Section V.4, 5 & 6 of these rules.

A temporary license can only be issued at the request of the natural
person to whom a license was issued, that person’s heir, or the entity
on whose behalf the individual applicant held the license.

A temporary license cannot be transferred, sold or otherwise disposed
of without the approval of the commission.

A temporary license can be renewed in a manner consistent with a
license to operate a dispensary under Section V.13 of these rules.

20.Appellate Procedure following Denial of License Renewal, Transfer of
License, or Location.

a.

[f the commission denies an application for the renewal of a
dispensary license, the transfer of a license, or the transfer of the location
for a license, the licensee may request a hearing before the commission
by filing a written request no later than fifteen (15) days from receipt
of the notice of denial from the commission.

The commission shall conduct a hearing no later than sixty (60) days
from the receipt of the request for hearing. The commission shall
provide notice of the hearing to all interested parties, conduct the
hearing, and issue a decision in accordance with the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.

. The commission’s decision may be appealed to the circuit court of the

county in which the dispensary is situated or the Pulaski County Circuit
Court. Appeals shall be governed by the term
of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, §25-15-201 et seq.

21. Hiring of Consultants

a.

The commission may retain the services of a contractor or consultant.
1. The selection of any contractor or consultant shall be conducted
pursuant to the procurement laws of the State of Arkansas.
ii. The recommendations and findings of any contractor or
consultant shall not be final and binding unless approved by a
majority vote of the commission.

SECTION VL.
PROCESSOR
APPLICATION, LICENSING, & RENEWAL

I. License Required
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a. No person or entity shall operate as a processor unless licensed by the
Commission pursuant to these rules.
b. Each license for a processor shall specify:

L.
Ii.
iii.

The name and address of the entity that holds the license;

The effective dates of the license; and

The address of the licensed processor, if different from that in
subsection i.

c. A processer licensed under this section shall not grow or dispense
marijuana.

d. The processor licensee shall visibly post a copy of its license at the
processor facility covered under the license.

e. A processor license shall expire one (1) year after the date of issuance.

2. Application

a. An application for a processor license shall be submitted to the
Commission on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Commission.

b. Information and statements provided in an application shall become
conditions of a license if the application is selected, and failure to satisfy
the conditions will be cause for revocation or denial of renewal.

c. An applicant shall be required to submit, without limitation:

.
il.

1.

iv.

Vi.

The required fee;

A performance bond in the amount of $100,000.00 that names the
state as the secured party. The bond shall be maintained until the
processor files its first application for renewal of the license.
Documentation of the entity’s organization and
ownership/management, including evidence that the applicant is
an entity incorporated in the State of Arkansas;

Sufficient evidence that each of the entity's owners, board
members, and officers:

1. Is over the age of twenty-one (21);

2. Has not previously been an owner of a dispensary,
cultivation facility, transporter, or processor that has had a
license revoked; and

3. Owes no delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the
federal government.

Consents for criminal background checks for each owner, board
member, and officer of the entity, along with the required
processing fees;

Plan for operating a medical marijuana processor in compliance
with applicable laws and rules and demonstrating planning
sufficient to prove the applicant's ability to comply with
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Division’s rules, including, without limitation:
1. Security requirements;
Recordkeeping requirements;
Transporting products;
Secure inventory tracking and control;
Sanitation and hygiene;
Implementation of appropriate security measures to
deter and prevent the theft of marijuana and
unauthorized entrance into areas containing marijuana
and;
7. Inspections and investigation by Alcoholic Beverage
Control Division;
8. Manufacturing and processing;
9. Personnel requirements, including employee training;
and
10.Ability to maintain effective control against diversion of
marijuana and marijuana products;
vil.  Proof of financial stability and access to financial resources,
including but not limited to:
I. Legal sources of finances immediately available to begin
operating a processor;
2. Financial projections for the next five (5) years; and
3. No history of bankruptcy filings by the applicant or its
owners, officers, or board of directors for eight (8) years
prior to the date of application.
The application shall be signed and sworn before a notary as
being true and correct.
The individual signing the application on behalf of the applicant must:
i. Bean owner, officer, or agent of the entity;
ii.  Provide evidence that the individual is legally authorized to sign
the application on the applicant’s behalf;
1. Serve as the primary point of contact with the Commission; and
iv. Provide a contact phone number and email address.
A person subject to background checks as provided in these rules or any
rules promulgated by the Division or the Department shall be prohibited
from being an owner, officer or board member of a processor facility, be
prohibited from entering a processor facility, and be prohibited from
having any responsibility for operating a processor if the person has been
convicted of an excluded felony offense.
A processor may begin operations after being issued a license and

BN hads bk [
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following inspection as required by division rules.

3. Renewal
a. The Commission shall issue a renewal license within ten (10) days of the

date the Commission receives a complete renewal application, including
the payment of a renewal fee.
. A renewal application for a processor license shall be submitted to the
Commission on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Commission
at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date on the license and
shall require, without limitation:

1. Proof that the licensee is in good standing with the Arkansas

Secretary of State; and
ii.  Proof that the licensee is in good standing with the Arkansas
Department of Finance and Administration.

. Before renewing a license, the Commission may require further
information and documentation and may conduct additional background
checks to determine that the licensee continues to meet the requirements
set out in these rules or the rules of the Arkansas  Department  of
Health or Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.
. The renewal application shall be signed and sworn before a notary as
being true and correct.
. A processor whose license is not renewed shall cease all operations
immediately upon expiration of the license, return the license to the
Commission, and any marijuana or marijuana products remaining in the
processor’s possession shall be destroyed or transferred pursuant to
Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control requirements.

4. Denial of Application for or Renewal of a License

a. The Commission may deny an application for or renewal of a license
for any of the following reasons:

1. Failure to provide the information or meet the requirements
described in the Amendment, these rules, or the rules of the
Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas Alcoholic
Beverage Control Division;

il. An owner, board member, or office has been an owner of a
dispensary, cultivation facility, transporter, distributor, or
processor that has had a license revoked;

iii. Provision of misleading, incorrect, false, or fraudulent
information;

iv. Failure to pay all applicable fees as required:

v. The applicant has an owner, board member, or officer with a
background history that indicates the person does not have a
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Vi,

reputable and responsible character or would pose a risk to the
health, safety, or welfare of the public or qualifying patients;
or

Any other ground that serves the purpose of these rules or the
rules of the Arkansas Department of Health or Arkansas
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.

b. If the Commission denies an application for or renewal of a license, the
Commission shall notify the applicant in writing of the Commission's
decision, including the reason for the denial.

c. A person aggrieved by a decision made pursuant to this section may
appeal in accordance with the procedures described in this rule.

5. Change in Information

a. The processor shall notify the Commission of any changes in contact
information, including a change of address.

b. The processor licensee shall notify the Commission in writing no less
than fourteen (14) days in advance of any change in the information
provided in its original application for licensure, along with supporting
documentation to prove the processor continues to be qualified. In the
event of a change for which a processor licensee does not have prior
notice, the licensee shall notify the Commission immediately upon
learning of the change.

c. The licensee shall notify the Commission of the following:

1.

1

iii.

iv.
. The filing of bankruptcy by the entity or by any of the entity’s

Vi.

The arrest or conviction for any felony of any owner, board
member, or officer;

Any of'the licensee’s owners, board members, or officers owes
delinquent taxes to the State of Arkansas or the federal
government.

The temporary closure of the business for any reason for longer
than fifteen (15) days;

The permanent closure of the business;

owners; or
Any other change that may affect the licensee's qualification
for licensure.

d. If the Commission determines that the change has the potential to
disqualify a licensee, the Commission shall refer the matter to the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division for adjudication.

6. Surrender of License
a. A processor may voluntarily surrender a license to the Commission at

any time.
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b. If a processor licensee voluntarily surrenders a license, the processor
shall:

I. Return the license to the Commission;

ii. Submit a report to the Commission including the reason for
surrendering the license; contact information following the
close of business; the person or persons responsible for the close
of the business; and where business records will be retained;
and

iii. Tender all marijuana to another facility in accordance with
Division requirements. No portion of the licensing fee shall be
returned to the processor licensee if the license is voluntarily
surrendered prior to the expiration of the license.

1. FEES
Processor License Fee - $5,000 .
Processor Renewal Fee - $5,000 .

8. APPEALS

I. If the Commission denies an application for the issuance or renewal of a
processor license, the licensee may request a hearing before the Commission
by filing a written request no later than fifteen (15) days from receipt of the
notice of denial from the Commission.

2. The Commission shall provide notice of the hearing to all interested parties,
conduct the hearing, and issue a decision in accordance with the Arkansas
Administrative Procedure Act, §§ 25-15-201 et seq.

3. The Commission's decision may be appealed to the circuit court of the county
in which the processor is situated or the Pulaski County Circuit Court. Appeals
shall be governed by the terms of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act,
§§ 25-15-201 et seq.
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§ 24. Licensure for transporters, distributers, and processers, AR CONST Amend. 98,§24

West's Arkansas Code Annotated
Constitution of the State of Arkansas of 1874
Amendments to the Constitution of Arkansas of 1874
Amendment 98. Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016 (Refs & Annos)

AR Const. Amend. 98, § 24
§ 24. Licensure for transporters, distributers, and processers

Currentness

(a)(1) The Medical Marijuana Commission shall license transporters, distributors, and processers.

(2) The Alcoholic Beverage Control Division shall administer and enforce the provisions of this section concerning
transporters, distributers, and processors.

(b) The owners, board members, or officers of a transporter, distributor, or processor shall not:

(1) Have been convicted of an excluded felony offense;

(2) Have previously been an owner of a dispensary, cultivation facility, transporter, distributor, or processor that has
had a license revoked; and

(3) Be under twenty-one (21) years of age.

(c) The commission may conduct a criminal records check in order to carry out this section.

(d)(1) A transporter license, distributor license, and processor license shall expire one (1) year after the date of issuance.

(2) The commission shall issue a renewal license within ten (10) days to any entity who complies with the requirements
contained in this amendment, including without limitation the payment of a renewal fee.

(e) The commission may charge a reasonable fee as established by rule for the issuance of an initial license and a renewal
license,

(D(1)(A) A transporter or distributer licensed under this section may:

(1) Acquire, possess, deliver, transfer, transport, or distribute marijuana to a dispensary, cultivation facility, or
processor; and
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§ 24. Licensure for transporters, distributers, and processers, AR CONST Amend. 98, § 24

(ii) Receive compensation for providing services allowed by this section.

(B) A transporter or distributor licensed under this section shall not grow, manufacture, process, prepare, supply,
or dispense marijuana.

(2)(A) A processer licensed under this section may:

(1) Acquire, possess, manufacture, process, prepare, deliver, transport, and supply marijuana to a dispensary or
cultivation facility; and

(i) Receive compensation for providing services allowed by this section.

(B) A processer licensed under this section shall not grow or dispense marijuana.

(g) The division may make reasonable inspections on a transporter, distributer, and processor to ensure that the
transporter, distributor, and processer:

(1) Is an entity incorporated in the State of Arkansas;

(2) Has implemented appropriate security measures to deter and prevent unauthorized entrance into areas containing
marijuana and the theft of marijuana;

(3) Conducts an initial comprehensive inventory of all marijuana and a biannual comprehensive inventory of all
marijuana; and

(4) Records each transaction between the transporter, distributer, or processer and a dispensary, cultivation facility,
or another processer and maintains the records for three (3) years:

(5) Has adopted procedures to ensure accurate recordkeeping.

(h)(1) The commission shall adopt rules governing the applications for a transporter license, distributor license, or
processer license.

(2) The division shall adopt rules governing:

(A) Oversight requirements for transporters, distributers, and processers;
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law,
Act 1004 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H4/8/19
92nd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2019 SENATE BILL 665

By: Senator T. Garner
By: Representative Wardlaw

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND ARKANSAS CONSTITUTION, AMENDMENT 98,
ALSO KNOWN AS THE "ARKANSAS MEDICAL MARIJUANA
AMENDMENT OF 2016"; TO ADD A FACILITY FOR INDIVIDUALS
WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES TO THE DISTANCE
REQUIREMENTS FOR A DISPENSARY; TO DECLARE AN
EMERGENCY; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE ARKANSAS MEDICAL MARIJUANA
AMENDMENT OF 2016; TO ADD A FACILITY FOR
INDIVIDUALS WITH DEVELOPMENTAL
DISABILITIES TO THE DISTANCE REQUIREMENTS
FOR A DISPENSARY; AND TO DECLARE AN
EMERGENCY .

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Pursuant to § 23 of Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 98,
also known as the "Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016", Arkansas
Constitution, Amendment 98, § 8(g)(2)(C) (i), concerning the licensing of
dispensaries and cultivation facilities, is amended to read as follows:

(i)(a) Dispensary, the location of which may not be
within one thousand five hundred feet (1,500’) of a public or private school,

church, ex daycare center, or facility for individuals with developmental

disabilities existing before the date of the dispensary application, which

shall be calculated from the primary entrance of the dispensary to the
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As Engrossed: H4&4/8/19 SB665

nearest property boundary of a public or private school, church, ex daycare
center, or facility for individuals with developmental disabilities.
(b) Subdivision (g)(2)(C)(i)(a) of this

section does not apply to or impact existing locations of dispensaries issued
a_license before the effective date of this subdivision (g)(2)(C) (i) (b) that

may be located within one thousand five hundred feet (1,500’) of a facility

for individuals with developmental disabilities; or

SECTION 2. EMERGENCY CLAUSE. It is found and determined by the

General Assembly of the State of Arkansas that it is necessary to protect the

individuals with developmental disabilities; that the current restriction on

the location of a medical marijuana dispensary is in place for schools,

churches, and daycare centers; and that this act is immediately necessary

because the State of Arkansas needs to ensure the protection of the

vulnerable citizens of the State of Arkansas. Therefore, an emergency is

declared to exist, and this act being immediately necessary for the

preservation of the public peace, health, and safety shall become effective

on:

(1) The date of its approval by the Governor;

(2) If the bill is neither approved nor vetoed by the Governor,

the expiration of the period of time during which the Governor may veto the

bill; or
(3) If the bill is vetoed by the Governor and the veto is

overridden, the date the last house overrides the veto.

/s/T. Garner

APPROVED: 4/15/19
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