Unofficial Local Option Election Status

< Back to Rules and Regulations Listing



The above map represents the unofficial "wet-dry" status of the counties in Arkansas. In wet counties, the retail sale and manufacture of alcoholic beverages is legal. In dry counties, only a private club permit may be issued. Most of the wet counties have dry areas within their borders, such as townships or cities. These counties are designated on the map above, by the county name being underlined; the respective dry areas in those counties are listed on the following page. Local option elections may be held during November General Elections pursuant to petition. Second and third level elections involving the public sale of liquor by the glass are not shown on this map. The official local option status of an area may be determined by reviewing records at a local County Clerk's office. 


< Previous                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Next >