Secretary’s Office

The Secretary’s Office includes the DFA Secretary, Deputy Director and support staff. The Secretary is the Chief Fiscal Officer of the State. The Chief Fiscal Officer’s legal responsibility is to provide leadership and direction to ensure that state agencies operate uniformly and efficiently in their utilization of human and financial resources. As Chief Fiscal Officer the Secretary serves on several state boards and commissions, including the State Board of Finance, Arkansas Development Finance Authority, Public Employees Retirement System, Highway Retirement Board, Governmental Bonding Board, Racing Commission, Information Network of Arkansas and Governor's Telecommunication and Technology Advisory Board. The Secretary is responsible for the State’s budget, accounting, personnel and purchasing policies and systems.

Offices under the Secretary’s authority provide assistance and direction in these areas to state agencies, boards, commissions and educational institutions to assure accountability to Arkansas taxpayers. The Secretary is also responsible for the oversight and management of the collection of state taxes, the licensing of motor vehicles and drivers, and the collection of child support. The Secretary has appointed the Deputy Director to serve as the Revenue Commissioner and oversee these responsibilities. The Deputy Director also serves the Secretary as second in charge of the other operations of the Department of Finance and Administration that provide policy and legislative direction to state agencies, boards, commissions and educational institutions.

The Office of Economic Analysis and Tax Research provides information on the economic and tax structure of the state. It is responsible for preparing and evaluating the general revenue forecast for the state of Arkansas. Other responsibilities include preparing revenue and economic impact studies and publishing.