Driver’s License FAQ’s
Why do I need Arkansas REAL ID DL or ID card?
In order to be compliant with the Federal “REAL ID Act of 2005” any person entering a federal facility or boarding a domestic flight after October 1, 2020 will need to provide either the Arkansas REAL ID DL or ID, or provide a regular card and additional accepted forms of identification. The Arkansas REAL ID DL or ID card will be accepted without additional forms of identification. If you do not have Arkansas REAL ID DL or ID card, you can still use your regular card after October 1, 2020, but will be required to show additional forms of identification to the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) to board an airplane or enter a federal facility. Additional information may be obtained from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
Can I have both Arkansas REAL ID DL or ID card and a regular card?
No, state and federal law will only allow either Arkansas REAL ID DL or ID or a regular DL or ID. You may not have both.
Where do I get Arkansas REAL ID DL or ID?
The card can only be obtained at these regional offices.
What information do I need to provide to get the card?
You must provide source documents to prove ALL of the following:
I just renewed my DL. What will it cost me to get Arkansas REAL ID DL?
If you have a current, valid DL, you may convert to Arkansas REAL ID DL for a $10 duplicate card charge.
An 8-year Arkansas REAL ID DL costs $40.
If you are within one year of the expiration date, you may renew and convert to the Arkansas REAL ID 8-year DL. The $40 cost will be prorated so that the expiration date on your card is your birthday.
If you choose to convert to the Arkansas REAL ID DL, you must bring the source documents listed above.
What if I don’t currently have a DL?
New, first-time applicants will pay $40. In either case, if you choose to renew or convert to the Arkansas REAL ID DL, you must bring the source documents listed above.
Will I have to bring all these documents every time I renew my enhanced security card?
You will only have to bring these documents if you have changed your name, date of birth, gender, social security number, or your DL or ID card number. You will not need to bring these documents if you’ve only changed your address.
I just renewed my ID, what will it cost me to change to Arkansas REAL ID ID card?
The cost to convert from a regular ID card to Arkansas REAL ID ID card is $5. The cost to renew Arkansas REAL ID ID card is also $5.
If you choose to convert to the Arkansas Real ID, you must bring the source documents listed above.
I am transferring my driver’s license from another state to Arkansas. In addition to providing the source document information, what will it cost me to get Arkansas REAL ID DL?
An 8 year Arkansas REAL ID DL costs $40. Additional testing fees and transfer fees may be added.
I am transferring my identification card from another state to Arkansas. In addition to providing the source document information, what will it cost me to get a Arkansas REAL ID ID card?
The cost is $5.00.
What is the expiration date on Arkansas REAL ID ID Card?
For those age 14 and older, both the Arkansas REAL ID card and the regular ID card expire every four years. Those age 60 and older have a choice between a lifetime regular ID card or a four-year Arkansas REAL ID card.
There is no lifetime Arkansas REAL ID card. Children age 5 to 13 may only receive an ID card with a two-year expiration.
Will the Arkansas Real ID Driver’s License or ID work for crossing the border?
No, the Arkansas Real ID only works within the borders of the United States, for Domestic flights and Federal buildings.
If you want the Federal enhanced driver’s license to cross borders, please click on link below.
Will the Arkansas Real ID Driver’s License or ID replace my U.S. Passport?
No, the Arkansas Real ID Driver’s License or ID will not replace a U.S. Passport. If you are going overseas or going on a Cruise or leaving the United States anytime, you will still need US Passport/U.S. Birth Certificate.
If you still have questions, please call our office at (501) 682-7059. You can also email their questions to Driver.Services@dfa.arkansas.gov.
- Driver Services
- CDL Alcohol & Drug Testing Database
- Commercial Drivers License Help Desk
- Commercial Drivers Medical Certification
- DL Testing
- Driver Control
- Driver Records
- Driver Services Forms
- Insurance Verification
- Driver's License and Identification Card Samples
- Safety Responsibility
- SR 1-21
- Top Ten Violations
- Frequently Asked Questions
- New Arkansas Driver’s License and Identification Card